World Rugby confirm Springboks were guilty of ‘intentional violation’ after Italy’s request

Manie Libbok's kick-off between the Springboks and Italy and referee Andrew Brace ordering a scrum.
World Rugby have weighed in on the Springboks’ controversial ploy to force a scrum with the first action of the match against Italy.
The world champions caused quite the stir last Saturday when Manie Libbok got the game underway with a short chip kick to Andre Esterhuizen, with the ball failing to travel the required 10 metres.
While referee Andrew Brace deemed that the action only warranted a scrum to Italy, an argument has been put forward that South Africa deliberately executed the ploy, which should have led to a penalty instead.
Upon the request of Federazione Italiana Rugby – Italian Rugby Federation – World Rugby have provided clarity on what the correct decision should have been, with Brace ultimately getting the call wrong on the day, according to the game’s governing body.
World Rugby’s clarification
“We are writing in reference to the very first action of the South Africa v Italy match played in Gqeberha, specifically the kick-off that initiated the game,” Italy’s clarification request read, which has been published on World Rugby’s website.
“We have reviewed the footage carefully, and a question has come up regarding the legality of the play under Law 9.7(a), which states: ‘A player must not intentionally infringe any law of the game.’
“Watching the dynamics of the restart, we were wondering whether it was carried out in full compliance with both the letter and the spirit of the law. We would really appreciate your view, to ensure a consistent and shared interpretation at international level.”
World Rugby confirmed that the following laws were relevant for the actions that unfolded:
Law 12: Kick-off & restart kicks
12.5 When the ball is kicked: a. Team-mates of the kicker must be behind the ball.
Sanction: Scrum.
12.6 The ball must reach the 10-metre line.
Sanction: The non-kicking team has the option of the kick being retaken or a scrum.
Law 9: Foul Play: Unfair play
9.7 A player must not: a. Intentionally infringe any law of the game.
Sanction: Penalty.
In their response, World Rugby came to the verdict that the Springboks should have been penalised for “an intentional violation” of the laws.
“The actions seen in this example show an intentional violation of the kick-off and restart laws,” the clarification verdict read.
“Laws 12.5 and 12.6 set out the sanctions where the ball unintentionally fails to go 10m or a player overruns their teammate at the kick-off/restart.
“However, if match officials believe this is done deliberately, then Law 9.7a should be applied.”
The Springboks manufacture a scrum opportunity in the first minute! INSANE! 🤯 #RSAvITA pic.twitter.com/R7wDGGobvH
— Jared Wright (@jaredwright17) July 12, 2025
Ultimately, the Springboks gained nothing from the ploy as Brace would award the Italians a free-kick from the ensuing scrum which the Azzurri took quickly and launched an attack.
Law discussion: Are Rassie Erasmus’ newest Springboks tactics legal and how can it be stopped?
Reactions
While Italy boss Gonzalo Quesada was unbothered by the open play lineouts that have also caused quite a stir among fans and pundits, he did find the opening action of the match as a sign of disrespect.
Springboks head coach Rassie Erasmus has also hit out about the tactic and pointed to the opening Test match between the two sides when the Azzurri avoided a scrum contest, with their scrum-half feeding the ball straight through the set-piece with no hook from the front-row.
While the open play lineouts are not against the laws of the game, former referee Nigel Owens believes that it gives the attacking team an unfair advantage and could be a dangerous action.