Andy Farrell addresses controversial Jac Morgan clear-out in British and Irish Lions victory

Louis Chapman Coombe
British and Irish Lions

British and Irish Lions boss Andy Farrell

British and Irish Lions head coach Andy Farrell admitted he can ‘understand’ people’s opinions on the controversial Jac Morgan clear-out in the waning moments of the second Test against the Wallabies, but felt it was nothing more than textbook.

Welshman Morgan, who came off the bench in the 29-26 victory, produced a clearout on Wallabies counterpart Carlo Tizzano in the build-up to Hugo Keenan’s match-winning try, which left the Australian flailing to the floor clutching his head.

Upon review, it was adjudged the pair ‘arrived at the same time’ and the try was awarded.

‘I thought it was a brilliant clear-out, didn’t you?’

Commenting on the incident after the game, Farrell said he thought it was nothing more than a ‘brilliant’ clear-out.

I thought it was a brilliant clear-out, didn’t you?” he told the media after the game.

It depends on what side of the fence you come from, I suppose, but I can understand people’s opinions.

He added: “I thought Jac was brilliant when he came on, and so were the rest of the bench.

British and Irish Lions storm back to win series with dramatic victory over wonderful Wallabies

British and Irish Lions player ratings: ‘Gladiatorial’ Maro Itoje powers tourists to series victory despite Andy Farrell’s ‘mystifying’ decision

While Farrell took a more pragmatic view of the incident, Wallabies counterpart Joe Schmidt was left seething at the decision to award the try, claiming it didn’t match up with the push for player welfare

“You just have to read Law 9.20 and you just have to listen to the description from the referee and then watch the vision when two players are described as arriving at the same time,” said the Wallabies head coach. “Just watch the footage.

“Our perspective is we felt it was a decision that doesn’t really live up to the big player safety push that they are talking about. You cannot hit someone above the levels of the shoulders and there’s no bind with the left arm, his hand is on the ground.

“That’s what we have seen. We have watched a number of replays from different angles, so it is what it is. We just have to accept it.”

READ MORE: Australia v British and Irish Lions: Five takeaways as ‘new level’ Wallabies have series ‘stolen’ by ‘massive advantage’