Waratahs name two debutants for Reds clash

Date published: July 1 2020

Waratahs head coach Rob Penney has named a squad full of young talent to take on the Reds in the Super Rugby AU opener in Brisbane on Friday.

Penney’s team announcement was headlined by the selection of Will Harris (number eight) and Joey Walton (inside centre), who are both set to make their Waratahs debut.

They’ll join the likes of fellow Junior Wallabies Angus Bell (loosehead prop), Will Harrison (fly-half) and Mark Nawanqanitawase (left wing) in the run-on side.

Tom Horton, Tiaan Tauakipulu and Ben Donaldson are also in line to make their professional debuts from the bench. They’ll be alongside the experienced trio of Tetera Faulkner, Tom Staniforth and Jack Dempsey who will provide Penney with plenty of options throughout the game.

Ned Hanigan returns from injury to partner Rob Simmons in the second-row, Jack Maddocks plays at full-back and Mitch Short will start in place of the injured Jake Gordon.

Alex Newsome will partner Joey Walton in midfield and has also been named vice-captain, his first official leadership role within the New South Wales Waratahs set up.

Waratahs: 15 Jack Maddocks, 14 James Ramm, 13 Alex Newsome, 12 Joey Walton, 11 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Mitch Short, 8 Will Harris, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons (c), 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Angus Bell
Replacements: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Tiaan Tauakipulu, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Michael Mcdonald, 22 Ben Donaldson, 23 Tepai Moeroa

Date: Friday, July 3
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19:05 (10:05 BST, 09:05 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant referees: Damon Murphy, Jordan Way
TMO: Ian Smith