Three Boks the backbone of Barbarians team

Date published: November 25 2021 - Planet Rugby

Steven Kitshoff, Malcolm Marx and Duane Vermeulen will all start for a strong-looking Barbarians team against Samoa at Twickenham on Saturday.

The team, skippered by Glasgow’s Ryan Wilson from the back-row, also features a mostly-Australian back-line steered by the all-Wallaby combination of James O’Connor and Nic White in the half-back roles.

Japan are also well-represented, with Ryoto Nakamura in the centre, Shinnosuke Kakinaga at tighthead prop and Naohiro Kotaki in the second row.

Puma Marcos Moneta is on the wing, with Wilson the only northern hemisphere player in the starting side.

As reported earlier this week, Ireland’s Rob Kearney will make his career swansong from the bench, with the side coached by Dave Rennie.

Barbarians: 15 Tom Wright (Australia, ACT Brumbies), 14 Marcos Moneta (Argentina, San Andres), 13 Len Ikitau (Australia, ACT Brumbies), 12 Ryoto Nakamura (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath), 11 Filipo Daugunu (Australia, Queensland Reds), 10 James O’Connor (Australia, Queensland Red), 9 Nic White (Australia, ACT Brumbies), 8 Duane Vermeulen (South Africa, Ulster), 7 Pete Samu (Australia, ACT Brumbies), 6 Ryan Wilson (Scotland, Glasgow Warriors, captain), 5 Naohiro Kotaki (Japan, Kobelco Kobe Steelers), 4 Rob Leota (Australia, Melbourne Rebels), 3 Shinnosuke Kakinaga (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath), 2 Malcolm Marx (South Africa, Kubota Spears), 1 Steven Kitshoff (South Africa, DHL Stormers)
Replacements: 16 Kosuke Horikoshi (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath), 17 Angus Bell (Australia, NSW Waratahs), 18 Gia Kharaishvili (Georgia, Racing 92), 19 Rodrigo Fernandez Criado (Argentina, Belgrano Athletic), 20 Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues), 21 Tate McDermott (Australia, Queensland Reds), 22 Izaia Perese (Japan, NSW Waratahs), 23 Rob Kearney (Ireland, former Leinster and Western Force)

Date: Saturday, November 27
Venue: Twickenham Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Pierre Brousset (France)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)