Super Rugby Pacific: Brad Weber to become the latest Chiefs centurion

Dylan Coetzee

June 12, 2021, Sydney, NSW, USA: SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 12: Brad Weber of the Chiefs makes a break during the round five Super Rugby Trans Tasman match between the NSW Waratahs and Chiefs at Brookvale Oval on June 12, 2021 in Sydney, Australia. (Credit Image: © Speed Media/Icon SMI via ZUMA Press)

Brad Weber will earn his 100th cap for the Chiefs after being named in the starting line-up for the clash against the Blues at Eden Park on Saturday.

The scrum-half has been co-captain with Sam Cane and will become the eighth Chiefs centurion joining Liam Messam, Hika Elliot, Stephen Donald, Tanerau Latimer, Cane, Brodie Retallick and Aaron Cruden. 

All Blacks Anton Liernert-Brown, Josh Lord and Tupou Vaa’i all return to the matchday 23 whilst loosehead Aidan Ross gets his first start of the season.

Josh Ioane keeps his place in the number 10 jersey inside of Quinn Tupaea who will pair in the midfield with Alex Nakivell.

Head coach Clayton McMillian heaped praise on Weber acknowledging his contribution.

“Brad’s contribution to the Chiefs throughout his career has been immense, and he thoroughly deserves to stand alongside an exclusive group of Chiefs centurions when he brings up his 100th this Saturday,” he said.  “He is an outstanding team man, consummate professional and clearly a great player. We look forward to sharing this auspicious milestone with Brad, alongside his partner, friends and family.” 

Expecting a tough challenge

McMillian noted how difficult the game will be against their rivals.

The Blues were very impressive for the majority of their game against the Hurricanes. They physically imposed themselves on the game both sides of the ball, looked organised, hungry and dangerous across the park,” he added.

“They would have understandably been hurt by the loss and we expect a sharp response from them this weekend, particularly home at Eden Park. We also know this fixture is a highlight on the calendar for our loyal supporters given our long history as rivals, so as always, we are focused on delivering a performance our Chiefs whānau will be proud of.”

Chiefs: 15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Josh Ioane, 9 Brad Weber (cc), 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (cc), 6 Tupou Vaa’i, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross
Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Kaylum Boshier, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Anton Lienert-Brown

Date: Saturday, March 5
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 16:35 local (03:35 GMT)
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Mabey (New Zealand), Mike Winter (New Zealand)
TMO: Richard Kelly (New Zealand)

READ MORE: Dalton Papalii returns, Beauden Barrett bracketed for the Blues