Strong Springbok squad named for touring games

Date published: July 21 2019

South Africa boss Rassie Erasmus has named a 36-man strong touring squad ahead of their Rugby Championship games against New Zealand and Argentina.

The Springboks already had 14 players waiting in New Zealand ahead of the Wellington fixture, with the remaining squad members following on.

Erasmus, his coaching staff, Eben Etzebeth, Jesse Kriel, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Rynhardt Elstadt, Trevor Nyakane, Elton Jantjies, Herschel Jantjies and Bongi Mbonambi departed on the long flight soon after their opening Rugby Championship victory, against the Pumas on Saturday.

Marcell Coetzee, Francois Louw, Lood de Jager, Tendai Mtawarira, Schalk Brits, Frans Steyn, S’bu Nkosi, Cobus Reinach, Makazole Mapimpi and Vincent Koch will leave on Sunday, joining the likes of Cheslin Kolbe, Willie le Roux, Handré Pollard and Faf de Klerk in New Zealand.

Captain Siya Kolisi has not been included in the playing squad as he remains sidelined with a knee injury.

South Africa touring squad

Forwards (21): Schalk Brits (Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (Ulster), Lood de Jager (Bulls), Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Lizo Gqoboka (Bulls), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Vincent Koch (Saracens), Francois Louw (Bath), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Franco Mostert (Gloucester), Trevor Nyakane (Bulls), Marvin Orie (Lions), Kwagga Smith (Lions), RG Snyman (Bulls), Duane Vermeulen (Bulls)

Backs (15): Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Damian de Allende (Stormers), Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks), Warrick Gelant (Bulls), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Herschel Jantjies (Stormers), Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), S’bu Nkosi (Sharks), Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz), Handré Pollard (Bulls), Cobus Reinach (Northampton Saints), Frans Steyn (Montpellier)