Rugby World Cup quarter-finals and kick-offs confirmed

Date published: October 13 2019

The 2019 Rugby World Cup quarter-finals have been confirmed, with hosts Japan taking on South Africa in one of four mouth-watering matches.

England and Australia will kick the last-eight games off when they meet in Oita on Saturday, October 19 in a repeat of 2007’s quarter-final.

Following that on Saturday will be reigning Rugby World Cup champions New Zealand tackling Pool A’s runner-up, Ireland, at Tokyo Stadium.

Sunday’s fixtures will begin with Six Nations rivals Wales, who topped Pool D, facing off with France, who finished second in Pool C, in Oita.

The final last-eight showdown is perhaps the most intriguing, however, as the impressive Brave Blossoms tackle the Springboks in the capital.

The winner of quarter-final 1 will take on the winner of quarter-final 2, with the victors of Sunday’s games facing off in the other semi-final.

Rugby World Cup quarter-final fixtures


QF1: 16:15 local (08:15 BST) – England v Australia
QF2: 19:15 local (11:15 BST) – New Zealand v Ireland


QF3: 16:15 local (08:15 BST) – Wales v France
QF4: 19:15 local (11:15 BST) – Japan v South Africa