Raymond Rhule, Dewaldt Duvenage to leave Stormers

Date published: June 8 2018

The Stormers have confirmed that Raymond Rhule and Dewaldt Duvenage have both been released early from their deals to pursue opportunities abroad.

Winger Rhule, and scrum-half Duvenage along with loose forward Nizaam Carr will all leave the Stormers at the end of the current Super Rugby season to join European clubs.

Rhule joined the Stormers at the start of the season and has scored five tries in his 12 appearances. He will join Stormers prop JC Janse van Rensburg at Top 14 side Grenoble.

Carr, who came through the age-group ranks and finishes his time at the Cape Town-based franchise with just short of 100 Stormers caps, will join Premiership club Wasps.

Duvenage, who also played age-group rugby for Western Province and made his Stormers debut back in 2009, ends his second stint in Cape Town with over 90 caps for the Stormers in total as he heads to Italian club Benetton Treviso.

Stormers director of rugby Gert Smal said that all three players were granted early release from their contracts.

“We appreciate what Nizaam, Dewaldt and Raymond have all contributed in their time here and wish them all the best for their future.

“Nizaam and Dewaldt both came through the system here and have been stalwarts for us over the years, while Raymond added another string to our bow this season.

“We are continously looking at strengthening our depth and will look to bring in quality players who can add value and improve our squad going forward,” he said.

Western Province Rugby Group CEO Paul Zacks said that the decision to release these players early was taken with their best interests at heart.

“We are glad that we could reach an agreement that benefitted all parties and wish to thank all three players for their efforts at Newlands,” HE SAID.

“Their departure will create further opportunities for the next generation of stars currently within our structures, while the likes of Siya Kolisi, Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Bongi Mbonambi, Wilco Louw, Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Damian de Allende and Dillyn Leyds remain contracted until 2019 and beyond.”

Western Province Rugby Football Union President, Thelo Wakefield, wished all three players well in their future endeavours.

“We thank Nizaam, Dewaldt and Raymond for their service here and wish them all of the best in Europe,” he said.