Zebre win Italian derby

Date published: January 3 2016

Zebre outscored Treviso two tries to one to win Sunday's Italian derby at the Stadio Monigo by 18-8.

Carlo Canna and Jayden Hayward traded penalties before Luke Burgess touched down late in the first half to give the visitors an 8-3 advantage at the break.

Edoardo Padovani's three-pointer extended their buffer in the second period and, although Chris Smylie scored for Treviso, Giulio Toniolatti crossed the whitewash for Zebre late on to secure the victory.

Treviso have endured a disappointing season and went into the game winless in ten PRO12 matches this campaign.

They were hoping that 2016 would represent a change in luck and, having ran Zebre close in the reverse fixture exactly a week ago, this was an ideal opportunity.

However, the hosts found themselves 3-0 down early on as Canna kicked a penalty for the away side. Treviso responded through Hayward's three-pointer before the fly-half had another chance off the tee after 28 minutes, but his effort struck the post.

Seven of Treviso's ten encounters had ended in losing bonus points for the basement dwellers and this was proving to be another tight contest.

The score remained locked at 3-3 until the visitors found a breakthrough just before the interval when Burgess scampered over.

It was a severe blow to the home team's hopes and that lack of confidence began to show in the early stages of the second period.

Although the scoreline remained close, Zebre managed to keep their opponents at arm's length and Padovani's penalty moved them two scores clear.

Smylie crossed the whitewash for Benetton, but Toniolatti went over immediately after to rubberstamp the victory for the away side.

The scorers:

For Treviso:
Try: Smylie
Pens: Hayward

For Zebre:
Tries: Burgess, Toniolatti
Con: Padovani
Pens: Canna, Padovani

Treviso: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Andrea Pratichetti, 13 Enrico Bacchin, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Tommaso Iannone, 10 Jayden Hayward, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Alessandro Zanni (c), 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Marco Barbini, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Matteo Zanusso. 
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salesi Manu, 19 Filo Paulo, 20 Robert Barbieri, 21 Abraham Steyn, 22 Alberto Lucchese, 23 Sam Christie

Zebre: 15 Guglielmo Palazzani, 14 Dion Berryman, 13 Ulrich Beyers, 12 Gonzalo Garcia, 11 Kayle van Zyl, 10 Carlo Canna, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 George Biagi (c), 4 Marco Bortolami, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Tommaso D'Apice, 1 Andrea Lovotti. 
Replacements: 16 Oliviero Fabiani, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Guillermo Roan, 19 Valerio Bernabò, 20 Jean Cook, 21 Giulio Toniolatti, 22 Matteo Pratichetti, 23 Edoardo Padovani.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Marius Mitrea (Italy), Elia Rizzo (Italy)
TMO: Carlo Damasco (Italy)