World XV's final squad confirmed

Date published: June 2 2014

The World XV squad to face South Africa at Newlands on Saturday has been confirmed and there are two changes to the original squad.

The World XV squad to face South Africa at Newlands on Saturday has been confirmed and there are two changes to the original squad named last month.

Toulon hooker Craig Burden comes in for Saracens' Schalk Brits, who has been included in the Springbok squad, while Lions front-row Julian Redelinhuys replaces Munster's BJ Botha who is injured.

International stars from around the world, Wallabies Matt Giteau, James O'Connor, Drew Mitchell and All Blacks Hosea Gear, Carl Hayman, Andrew Hore and Jimmy Cowan are all included.

Joining them will be Top 14 highest point's scorer Francois Trinh-Duc and back row forward Alexandre Lapandry.

Five players from Toulon's double winning Heineken Cup and Top 14 side will also feature in the squad, including Steffon Armitage from England, who was recently voted Heneken Cup player of the year.

The squad has 621 international caps to their name from nine countries; Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, France, England, Ireland, Samoa, Tonga, and Georgia giving a truly global feel to the squad.

Taking charge of the squad's preparations will be former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett, assisted by Edinburgh's director of rugby Alan Solomons.

Mallett commented, “As well as assigning an international flavour to the World XV squad, it was also decided by the coaching and management team, to give both a number of international and on form non international South African club players, currently excelling overseas and nationally, the opportunity to play in the Test Arena on their beloved home soil against the Springboks.

“These internationals include Alistair Hargreaves (Saracens), Juandré Kruger (Racing Metro), Wynand Olivier (Montpellier). And non internationals Rory Kockott (Castres), Craig Burden (Toulon), Schalk Ferreira (Toulouse) and the Lions young prop Julian Redelinghuys.”

World XV squad:
Backs: James O'Connor (London Irish, Australia Р44 Test caps), Drew Mitchell (Toulon, Australia Р63), Hosea Gear (Toulouse, New Zealand Р14), Sititiveni Sivivatu (Clermont, New Zealand Р45), Aurelien Rougerie (Clermont, France Р71), Rene Ranger (Montpelier, New Zealand Р6), Matt Giteau (Toulon, Australia Р92), Fran̤ois Trinh-Duc (Montpelier, France Р48), Rory Kockott (Castres, South Africa Рuncapped) and Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester, New Zealand Р51).
Forwards: Steffon Armitage (Toulon, England Р5 Test caps), Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont, France Р6), Roger Wilson (Ulster, Ireland Р1), Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier, Georgia Р51), Alistair Hargreaves (Saracens, South Africa Р4), Joe Tekori (Toulouse, Samoa Р26), Juandr̩ Kruger (Racing Metro, South Africa Р17), Craig Burden (Toulon, South Africa Рuncapped), Andrew Hore (New Zealand Р83), Schalk Ferreira (Toulouse, South Africa Рuncapped), Sona Taumololo (Perpignan, Tonga Р5), Julian Redelinghuys (Lions, South Africa Рuncapped) and Carl Hayman (Toulon, New Zealand Р45).