Wins for Pau, Brive and Bordeaux-Begles

Date published: January 14 2018

The French sides came out on top in the late Challenge Cup matches played on Saturday with Pau, Brive and Bordeaux-Bègles victorious.

Pau 42-14 Zebre

Pau ran in five tries to secure an emphatic 42-14 victory over Zebre at Stade du Hameau in Challenge Cup action on Saturday.

Tries from Jale Vatubua, Laurent Bouchet, Masalosalo Tutaia, Peter Saili and Frank Halai proved too much for Zebre who scored through a Giovani Licata brace.

Vatubua gave Pau a second minute lead but Licata squared matters up in the ninth minute. Bouchet put the hosts back in front in the 16th minute.

Pau's lead was further extended with a penalty try and yellow card to Valerio Bernabo rubbing salt in to the wounds. They asserted their dominance with one more try before the interval through Tutaia, taking a 26-7 lead into the interval.

Saili got in the act for Pau after the interval in the 47th minute before Halai put the cherry on the top with a well-taken try in the 52nd minute.

Zebre's consolation try through Licata in the 57th minute was the only remaining scoring action of the game as Pau ran out comfortable 42-14 winners.

The scorers:

For Pau:
Tries: Vatubua, Bouchet, Tutaia, Saili, Halai, Penalty Try
Cons: Lebail 4, Fajardo

For Zebre:
Tries: Licata 2
Cons: Palazzani 2
Yellow Card: Bernabo

Pau: 15 Mathias Colombet, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Florian Nicot, 12 Jale Vatubua, 11 Watisoni Votu, 10 Brandon Fajardo, 9 Clovis Lebail, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Giovanni Habel Kuffner, 6 Daniel Ramsay, 5 Masalosalo Tutaia, 4 Fabrice Metz, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Laurent Bouchet, 1 Jamie Mackintosh
Replacements: 16 Lucas Rey, 17 Ignacio Calles, 18 Matthew Tierney, 19 Ben Mowen, 20 Lekima Tagitagivalu, 21 Christopher Kaiser, 22 Antoine Hastoy, 23 Bastien Pourailly

Zebre: 15 Edoardo Padovani, 14 Ciaran Gaffney, 13 Giulio Bisegni, 12 Tommaso Boni, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti, 10 Maicol Azzolini, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Giovanni Licata, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 David Sisi, 4 Valerio Bernabo, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Luhandre Luus, 1 Cruze Ah-Nau
Replacements: 16 Tommaso D’Apice, 17 Andrea de Marchi, 18 Roberto Tenga, 19 Leonard Krumov, 20 Johan Meyer, 21 Riccardo Raffaele, 22 Gabriele Di Giulio, 23 Matteo Minozzi

Referee: Joy Neville (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Kieran Barry (Ireland), Ken Imbusch (Ireland)

Oyonnax 17-29 Brive

Brive ran out 29-17 winners over Oyonnax at Stade Charles Mathon in Challenge Cup action on Saturday.

Tries from Alfi Mafi, Felix Le Bourhis, Seremaia Burotu and Benito Masilevu proved too much for Oyonnax who scored through a Jose Lima try while Julien Audy slotted four penalties.

Brive scored two in the first half through Mafi (8) and Le Bourhis (26) but Audy kept Oyonnax in the game with four first-half penalties as Brive took a slender 15-12 lead into the interval.

The second half saw no action until the 60th minute when Masilevu scored for Brive, a Nicolas Bezy conversion making it 29-12.

Oyonnax were determined not to roll over and Lima scored a consolation try on the final whistle.

The scorers:

For Oyonnax:
Try: Lima
Con: Fuertes
Pens: Audy 4

For Brive:
Tries: Mafi, Le Bourhis, Burotu, Masilevu
Cons: Bezy 3
Pen: Bezy

Oyonnax: 15 Bjorn Basson, 14 Silvere Tian, 13 Vincent Lasmarrigues, 12 Maxime Veau, 11 Tim Giresse, 10 Anthony Fuertes, 9 Julien Audy, 8 Thibault Tauleigne 7 Curtis Browning, 6 Luc Barba, 5 Simon Christian Njewel, 4 Shay Kerry, 3 Pietro Ceccarelli, 2 Benjamin Geledan, 1 Tommy Raynaud
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Bourgois, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Thomas Laclayat, 19 Manuel Leindekar Virginio, 20 James Hall, 21 Roimata Hansell-Pune, 22 Jose Lima, 23 Kilian Bendjaballah

Brive: 15 Alfifeleti Mafi, 14 Benito Masilevu, 13 Felix Le Bourhis, 12 Seremaia Burotu, 11 Guillaume Namy, 10 Nicolas Bézy, 9 Florian Cazenave, 8 Etienne Herjean, 7 Poutasi Luafutu, 6 Péniami Narisia, 5 Jan Uys, 4 Peet Marais, 3 James Johnston, 2 Thomas Acquier, 1 Julien Brugnaut
Replacements: 16 Louis Martin, 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga, 18 Soso Bekoshvili, 19 Sisa Koyamaibole, 20 Dominiko Waqaniborutu, 21 Vasil Lobzhanidze, 22 Franck Romanet, 23 Gaetan Germain

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
Assistant referees: Adam Jones (Wales), Simon Rees (Wales)

Bordeaux-Bègles 36-28 Dragons

Bordeaux-Bègles claimed a hard-fought 36-28 victory over the Dragons at Stade Chaban-Delmas on Saturday.

In the first action of the game, Angus O'Brien faced the sin-bin with a quarter of an hour gone on the clock. Matthieu Jalibert put Bordeaux-Bègles on the board from the resulting penalty.

Soon after, the Dragons responded through a Dorian Jones penalty. Five minutes later, Dragons had the game's first try through James Benjamin.

Three Jones penalties brought Dragons back in to the tie but Jalibert's try ensured the French side would pull away once again to take a 16-8 lead into the break.

Seven minutes after the interval, Blair Connor's try converted by Jalibert brought the home side storming back into the game one point behind.

Five minutes later, Sarel Pretorius scored for the Dragons. However, the home side put the icing on the cake with tries from Fa’asui Fuatai (56) and Geoffrey Cros (61. 70).

Dragons' late consolation try through Carl Meyer meant they lost by eight points at 36-28.

The scorers:

For Bordeaux-Begles:
Tries: Jalibert, Conor, Fuatai, Cros 2
Cons: Jalibert 3
Pen: Jalibert

For Dragons:
Tries: Benjamin, Pretorius, Meyer
Cons: Jones 2
Pens: Jones 3

Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Geoffrey Cros, 14 Fa’asui Fuatai, 13 Romain Lonca, 12 Ben Volavola, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Gauthier Doubrere, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Alexandre Roumat, 6 Mahamadou Diaby, 5 Cyril Cazeaux, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Ravai Kovekalou, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Sébastien Taofifenua
Replacements: 16 Adrien Pélissié, 17 Thierry Paiva, 18 Lasha Tabidze, 19 Pierre Gayraud, 20 Leroy Houston, 21 Jules Gimbert, 22 Metuisela Talebulamaijaina, 23 Apisai Naqalevu

Dragons: 15 Angus O’Brien, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Adam Warren, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Jared Rosser, 10 Dorian Jones, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Robson Blake, 7 James Benjamin, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Cory Hill (c), 4 Rynard Landman, 3 Lloyd Fairbrother, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Thomas Davies
Replacements: 16 Liam Belcher, 17 Luke Garrett, 18 Sam Hobbs, 19 Joe Davies, 20 Carl Meyer, 21 Dan Babos, 22 Gavin Henson, 23 Pat Howard

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace (England), Jonathan Healy (England)