Wasps win at the Rec

Date published: March 4 2017

Wasps went five points clear at the Premiership summit after they overcame a poor Bath 24-3 at the Recreation Ground on Saturday.

Tries from Christian Wade and Kurtley Beale (2) gave the Premiership leaders a 14-0 advantage, but Tom Homer's penalty reduced the arrears at the break.

Although the second period was not as fluid, Jimmy Gopperth did kick a penalty for the Midlanders before Beale sealed the victory with their third try.

The Coventry-based outfit have enjoyed an excellent campaign and the start to the match demonstrated why. Their expensively assembled backline displayed some magical early touches with Willie Le Roux, Danny Cipriani and Beale all involved.

Dai Young's men initially failed to take advantage of their dominance, with the hosts defending resolutely, but they eventually got their reward as Cipriani and Alex Rieder combined to send Wade over.

The right wing then showed another side to his game, forcing David Denton into touch when the back-rower appeared certain to score.

With Wasps holding out the West Countrymen, they duly went up the other end to cross the whitewash for the second time.

Bath were struggling to deal with the Midlanders' sheer pace and dexterity in attack and, when Cipriani sent Tommy Taylor free, the hooker's excellent offload allowed Beale to round Homer and finish.

The Bath full-back did have the final word in the half, kicking a penalty from in front of the posts, but it was the visitors that led at the interval.

Young's side remained a threat in the second period and Gopperth extended their buffer from the tee, but Todd Blackadder's outfit began to assert some control on the encounter.

However, it was not enough to breach a stubborn rearguard with the away team holding out comfortably. Instead, it was Wasps that secured the win though Beale's second try.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Pen: Homer

For Wasps:
Tries: Wade, Beale 2
Cons: Gopperth 3
Pen: Gopperth

Bath: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Max Clark, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Anthony Watson, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 David Denton, 6 Tom Ellis, 5 Charlie Ewels (c), 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Max Lahiff, 2 Ross Batty, 1 Nathan Catt
Replacements: 16 Michael van Vuuren, 17 Beno Obano, 18 Kane Palma-Newport, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Zach Mercer, 21 Will Homer, 22 Rory Jennings, 23 Kristian Phillips

Wasps: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Alapati Leiua, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Willie Le Roux, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Alex Rieder, 7 Thomas Young, 6 Ashley Johnson, 5 James Gaskell, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Matt Mullan (c)
Replacements: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Will Rowlands, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Guy Armitage, 23 Josh Bassett

Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell, Simon McConnell
TMO: David Sainsbury