Waratahs lose Palu for Rebels clash

Date published: February 19 2015

The Waratahs were dealt a blow ahead of Friday's clash with the Rebels in Melbourne when Wycliff Palu was forced to withdraw through injury.

The defending champions coach Michael Cheika named an unchanged starting line-up, despite their opening round loss to the Western Force, but according to AAP, Palu will miss their clash against the Rebels due to a knee injury.

Veteran loose forward Stephen Hoiles – who started last year's Super Rugby Final against the Crusaders on the blindside flank – replaces Palu in the run-on side.

The Sydneysiders' replacements bench for Friday's match has yet to be finalised.

Waratahs (revised): 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravaro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jaques Potgieter, 5 Will Skelton, 4 David Dennis (c), 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements (two to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 AN Other, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 Pat McCutcheon, 25 Peter Betham.

Date: Friday, February 20
Venue: AAMI Stadium, Melbourne
Kick-off: 19:40 local (08:40 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Referees: James Leckie, Michael Hogan
TMO: Peter Marshall