Waratahs landmark for Robinson

Date published: June 24 2014

Benn Robinson will make Waratahs history on Saturday when he runs out against the Brumbies at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Benn Robinson will make Waratahs history on Saturday when he runs out against the Brumbies at ANZ Stadium in the crunch match for top spot in the Australian Conference.

Named in the starting XV on Tuesday, Robinson will earn his 130th New South Wales cap and join fellow NSW legend Al Baxter as the state's second most capped player of all time, behind former captain Phil Waugh (136).

Head coach Michael Cheika has made just one change to the starting side that beat defending champions the Chiefs in their last outing back in Round 16, with Wallaby prop Sekope Kepu starting at tighthead in place of the hard-hitting Paddy Ryan.

Internationals Jacques Potgieter and Kane Douglas will wear the number four and five jerseys respectively, with Wallaby debutant Will Skelton expected to make an impact from the bench.

The Waratahs' loose forwards remain untouched, with Michael Hooper and Wycliff Palu returning from Wallaby camp to join captain Dave Dennis in the battle against the Brumbies.

In-form halves Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley will look to unleash potent midfield duo Kurtley Beale and Adam Ashley-Cooper, who also return after helping the Wallabies secure a three-Test clean sweep over the French.

Winger Rob Horne will be accompanied by fellow speedster Alofa Alofa, with Israel Folau holding on to the fullback jersey and completing a dangerous back three.

Cheika has named an extended bench that features newcomer Taqele Naiyaravoro as well as fit-again Tolu Latu, with one to be omitted.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (c), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Jacques Potgieter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Stephen Hoiles, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Jono Lance, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 24 Cam Crawford

Date: Saturday, June 28
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Kickoff: 19:40 (local, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Lees (Australia), Ian Smith (Australia)
TMO: Peter Marshall (Australia)