Wallabies veteran returns from lengthy injury lay-off for the Brumbies against table-topping Hurricanes

Dylan Coetzee
Allan Alaalatoa during a Brumbies training session.

Allan Alaalatoa during a Brumbies training session.

Wallabies front-row Allan Alaalatoa makes his return after rupturing a tendon in his left knee last year causing him to miss the Rugby World Cup in France.

The veteran has been named in the Brumbies’ front-row to face the red-hot Hurricanes who are still unbeaten this season. The most capped Australian in Super Rugby history, James Slipper, starts at loosehead with Billy Pollard completing the front-row at hooker.

In the second-row the settled duo of Darcy Swain and Cadeyrn Neville combine with Rob Valetini, Rory Scott and Charlie Cale making up an exciting back-row.

Scrum-half Ryan Lonergan keeps the captain’s armband despite Alaalatoa’s return and links up with Noah Lolesio in the half-backs who has featured in every game this season for the Brumbies.

Another Wallaby returnee

In the midfield, there is another welcome return from injury for Wallaby Len Ikitau who lines up next to Tamati Tua while Tom Wright, Ollie Sapsford and Corey Toole combine in an electric back three.

The bench is a 5-3 split with Harrison Goddard, Jack Debreczeni and Andy Muirhead as the backline options.

Hooker Connal McInerney is joined by Blake Schoupp and Sosefo Kautai as front-row replacements with Tom Hooper and Jahrome Brown rounding out the matchday 23.

Kurtley Beale makes emotional speech after Force’s triumph over Crusaders

Brumbies team to face Hurricanes

Brumbies: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Ollie Sapsford, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Tamati Tua, 11 Corey Toole, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Ryan Lonergan (c), 8 Charlie Cale, 7 Rory Scott, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Billy Pollard, 1 James Slipper
Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Blake Schoupp, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Tom Hooper, 20 Jahrome Brown, 21 Harrison Goddard, 22 Jack Debreczeni, 23 Andy Muirhead

Date: Saturday, April 27
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Damon Murphy (Australia), Jeremy Markey (Australia)
TMO: Brett Cronan (Australia)

READ MORE: Massive blow for Joe Schmidt’s Wallabies as long-term injury to star centre could signal end of rugby union career