Vunipola, Care to start for England

Date published: March 17 2016

England head coach Eddie Jones has made two changes to his starting line-up for Saturday's Six Nations clash with France in Paris.

Mako Vunipola comes in to the run-on side at loosehead prop at the expense of Joe Marler, who drops down to the bench, while Danny Care takes over at scrum-half from Ben Youngs, who is also amongst the replacements.

England were crowned Six Nations champions on Sunday and victory against France will see them seal their first Grand Slam since 2003.

“We’ve picked our best 23 who we think can get the job done in Paris," said Jones.

Marler drops to the bench, as does Youngs and they join Manu Tuilagi, Elliot Daly, Jack Clifford, Joe Launchbury, Kieran Brookes and Luke Cowan-Dickie as replacements.

"Mako Vunipola comes in at loose-head for Joe Marler who will make an impact off the bench," added Jones.

“Everyone wants to be on the field this Saturday so selection was nip and tuck. Danny Care starts at scrum half with Ben Youngs finishing the game." 

After his man-of-the-match performance against Wales, Maro Itoje retains his place ahead of Launchbury while hooker Dylan Hartley leads the side once more.

England's back row is also unchanged for the fifth successive match while George Ford remains at fly-half with Owen Farrell at inside centre.

“While we are pleased to have already won the championship we don’t want to let our foot off the gas," added Jones.

"The objective has always been to win every game, to be the most dominant team in Europe, so it’s been very important to us to approach this week with the same level of intensity we have shown in previous weeks. I’m pleased with how we have prepared and with the focus the squad have shown.

“You can’t underestimate any team in Test match rugby. France are a dangerous team but we go to Paris full of confidence and a hunger to get the win.”  

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 James Haskell, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Mako Vunipola 
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Joe Launchbury,20  Jack Clifford, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Manu Tuilagi, 23 Elliot Daly 

Date: Saturday, March 19
Venue: Stade de France, Paris
Kick-off: 21:00 local (20:00 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Leighton Hodges (Wales)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)