Visser double downs Glasgow

Date published: January 2 2015

Tim Visser bagged two tries as Edinburgh gained revenge for last week’s 1872 Cup defeat to Glasgow Warriors on Friday.

Glasgow headed into the tie having beaten Edinburgh a week earlier, and with the advantage in the race to secure the 1872 Cup. But the hosts turned the tables to cancel out the deficit and avenge last week’s defeat.

Finn Russell was on target with a penalty goal after 11 minutes to put Glasgow in front, but Sam Hidalgo-Clyne responded in kind shortly after.

Hidalgo-Clyne edged his side in front with another penalty, before the hosts struck a hammer blow through Visser’s quick-fire brace of tries.

A chip over the top and a sleek inside pass produced the first, which Hidalgo-Clyne converted, and then Visser snapped up the intercept to complete a frantic double and take the game by the scruff of the neck for Edinburgh.

Hidalgo-Clyne was once again on target with the extras to make it 20-3 at the interval and leave Glasgow with a mountain to climb in the second period.

Ross Ward was in fantastic form for Glasgow, and his commitment in attack and defence typified the hosts’ approach.

But there were little in the way of scoring opportunities after the break, as Glasgow sought to turn their advantage into victory.

Niko Matawalu had given Edinburgh the perfect start to the half when his try was given the green light by the TMO, but that was as good as it got for the visitors.

The Warriors continued to attack and mount pressure but they were unable to turn the screw close to the home try-line, and Edinburgh held out for not only the league win, but the local bragging rights that come with the 1872 Cup.

The scorers:

For Edinburgh:
Tries: Visser 2
Cons: Hidalgo-Clyne 2
Pens: Hidalgo-Clyne 2

For Glasgow:
Try: Matawalu
Pen: Russell

Edinburgh: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Tonks, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 8 David Denton, 7 Roddy Grant, 6 Mike Coman (c), 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 John Andress, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Fraser McKenzie, 20 Hamish Watson, 21 Sean Kennedy, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Sam Beard.

Glasgow Warriors : 15 Peter Murchie, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Niko Matawalu, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Tyrone Holmes, 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Al Kellock (c) 4 Jonny Gray, 3 Jon Welsh, 2 Dougie Hall, 1 Gordon Reid.
Replacements: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Euan Murray, 19 Leone Nakarawa, 20 James Eddie, 21 Ali Price, 22 Richie Vernon, 23 Stuart Hogg.

Date: Friday, January 2
Venue: Murrayfield
Kickoff: 19:35 GMT
Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU)
Assistant Aeferees: Sam Grove-White, Peter Allan (both SRU)
TMO: Jim Yuille (SRU)