Ulster: Duane Vermeulen one of 10 players leaving the Irish province

Jared Wright
Springboks veteran Duane Vermeulen ulster rugby

Springboks veteran Duane Vermeulen is one of 10 players that will leave the United Rugby Championship (URC) side at the end of the season. 

The province announced a further five departees ahead of the quarter-final against Connacht on Friday, adding to the already confirmed exits of Jordi Murphy, Craig Gilroy, Rob Lyttle, Declan Moore and Frank Bradshaw-Ryan.

Five departees

Nearly 500 caps worth of experience will leave the side at the end of the current season, as the URC side states that this weekend’s game will offer supporters the opportunity to say farewell to the players.

Vermeulen, Gareth Milasinovich, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Rory Sutherland and Sam Carter will all leave the side.

To date, Vermeulen has played 34 times for Ulster since joining from the Bulls in 2021.

Carter joined from the Brumbies in 2019 and has played 63 games for the side, while Milasinovich joined from Worcester simultaneously and has played 23 games.

Finally, Sutherland joined from Worcester Warriors earlier this season and has racked up 11 appearances.

For the likes of Carter (33) and Vermeulen (36), it is unclear whether they will continue their careers past this season.

Vermeulen stated that he considered retirement after the Rugby World Cup but opted to attempt to make the Springboks 2023 Rugby World Cup squad.

Ulster did not confirm the designations of their departing players.

“All of the players moving on from Ulster can be rightly proud of what they have given to our province, both on and off the pitch,” head coach Dan McFarland said on confirmation of the departing players.

“It seems fitting that we get to recognise their contribution to the club in front of a home crowd at Kingspan Stadium on one of the biggest nights of our season.

“I know the supporters will join me, and the wider playing group and staff at Ulster, in thanking the guys for the part they have played in our ambitions as a squad and some unforgettable memories for us all when they lined-out in the white jersey.” 

Departing Ulster players and their appearance tallies:

Craig Gilroy (212)
Rob Lyttle (64)
Jordi Murphy (63)
Sam Carter (57)
Duane Vermeulen (34)
Gareth Milasinovich (23)
Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (13)
Rory Sutherland (11)
Declan Moore (3)
Frank Bradshaw-Ryan (1)

READ MORE: URC: ‘Astute’ John Plumtree to return to the Sharks’ hot seat next season