U20 Championship semi-finals confirmed

Date published: June 15 2016

The final four for this year’s World Rugby U20 Championship have been confirmed after the final day of the group stages in Manchester.

For the first time in history New Zealand have missed out on the U20 semi-finals, having finished second in Pool A to Ireland and after missing out on the best runners-up spot for the semi-finals to South Africa.

England and Argentina were the other pool winners to make up the rest of the final four.

New Zealand meanwhile will face Wales in the 5th place semi-finals, with Scotland taking on Australia in the other semi-final.

The battle for 9th meanwhile sees Georgia take on Italy and France face Japan. The loser of the 11th place game on June 25 will be relegated from the tournament.

World Rugby U20 Championship
All fixtures to be played on June 20

Cup semi-finals

Ireland v Argentina
England v South Africa

Fifth place semi-finals

New Zealand v Wales
Scotland v Australia

Ninth place semi-finals

Georgia v Italy
France v Japan