Treviso win basement battle

Date published: January 3 2015

Treviso got the better of Zebre for the second time inside a week when they claimed a 17-15 victory in Saturday’s battle between two struggling sides.

A Michele Compagnaro try mid-way through the first half laid the platform for Treviso to record this narrow win over their Italian rivals.

Neither side headed into the game in decent form, although Treviso had come out on top when the two sides met six days ago. The sides traded penalty goals early in the contest.

Edward Padovani got Zebre off the mark, but Jayden Hayward quickly levelled for Treviso. Hayward then added the conversion to Compagnaro’s try later in the first half to put Treviso in front.

But the hosts were forced to contend with the departure of no fewer than three players to yellow cards in just nine second half minutes. Enrico Bacchin, D’Arcy Rae and Matteo Muccignat were each dispatched to the touchline by referee Gary Conway.

But heroic defence from the hosts meant that Zebre were initially unable to make their numerical advantage pay and force their way back into the contest.

The visitors did eventually break the hosts’ resistance on 70 minutes, when Quentin Geldenhuys forced his way over, but Treviso found an immediate response through Edoardo Gori’s try, converted by Hayward.

The score gave the hosts a nine-point cushion and there wasn’t enough time on the clock for Zebre, who lost Guilio Toniolatti to the sin-bin in the last ten minutes, to mount a comeback.

They did add a consolation try just seconds from full-time when scrum-half Brendon Leonard scrambled over, for Kelly Haimona to convert, but Treviso saw out the win and completed the double over their rivals.

The scorers:

For Treviso:
Tries: Campagnaro, Gori
Con: Hayward 2
Pen: Hayward
Yellow Cards: Muccignat (55th minute), Rae (61st minute), Bacchin (65th minute)

For Zebre:
Try: Geldenhuys, Leonard
Con: Haimona
Pen: Padovani
Yellow Card: Toniolatti (78th minute)

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Angelo Esposito, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Enrico Bacchin, 11 Ludovico Nitoglia, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Henry Seniloli, 8 Dean Budd, 7 Francesco Minto, 6 Simone Favaro, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Antonio Pavanello (c), 3 D’arcy Rae, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Matteo Zanusso
Replacements: 16 Albert Anae, 17 Jos