Toulouse see off 14-man Lyon

Date published: December 7 2017

Toulouse moved one point behind pool leaders Cardiff Blues as they beat 14-man Lyon 30-23 in the Challenge Cup on Thursday.

Cardiff Blues make the trip to Sale in this round and Toulouse will be hoping the Sharks can do them a big favour at the AJ Bell Stadium.

Toulouse led 20-6 at the interval thanks to a try double from Wandile Mjekevu, which Jean-Marc Doussain converted, to go with two penalties. In reply Jonathan Pélissié kicked six points but those penalties came after Lyon winger Timilai Rokoduru was red carded for a no-arms tackle.

When Yoann Huget crossed four minutes into the second-half to make it 25-6, it looked like Toulouse would cruise towards the maximum.

However, to their credit, Lyon responded with a penalty and converted try from Theo Belan pulling them back into the contest at 25-16 down.

But Toulouse managed to get the job done and claimed their bonus-point score on 63 minutes via Sofiane Guitoune. And despite Jone Tuva going over for Lyon with three minutes to play it was only a consolation as Toulouse keep their hopes of qualification for the knockouts alive.

The scorers:

For Toulouse:
Tries: Mjekevu 2, Huget, Guitoune
Cons: Doussain 2
Pens: Doussain 2

For Lyon:
Tries: Belan, Tuva
Cons: Pélissié, Michalak
Pens: Pélissié 3
Red Card: Rokoduru

Toulouse: 15 Yoann Huget, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Jarrod Poi, 12 Yann David, 11 Sofiane Guitoune, 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Jean-Marc Doussain, 8 Selevasio Tolofua, 7 Carl Axtens, 6 Louis Madaule, 5 Rynhardt Elstadt, 4 Florian Verhaeghe, 3 Dorian Aldegheri, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Rodrigue Neti 
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Daniel Mienie, 18 Maks Van Dyk, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 Semi Kunatani, 21 Sébastien Bézy, 22 Antoine Dupont, 23 Lucas Tauzin

Lyon: 15 Quentin Gobet, 14 Timilai Rokoduru, 13 Theo Belan, 12 Pierre-Louis Barassi, 11 Jone Tuva, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Jonathan Pélissié, 8 Deon Fourie, 7 Tanginoa Halaifonua, 6 Dylan Cretin, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Clément Ric, 2 Virgile Lacombe, 1 Hamza Kaabèche 
Replacements: 16 Enzo Pakihivatau, 17 Stéphane Clement, 18 Guram Papidze, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Tai Tuifua, 21 Adrien Seguret, 22 Rudi Wulf, 23 Frédéric Michalak

Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe (England), Peter Allan (England)
TMO: Shaun Davey (England)