Toulouse cruise past Agen

Date published: May 8 2016

Toulouse leaped into the top six in the Top 14 table after thumping basement dwelling side Agen 52-19 on Sunday.

Five first-half tries from Sébastien Bézy, Vincent Clerc, number eight Louis Picamoles and a brace from inside centre Gaël Fickou helped guide the home side to a comfortable win.

Tries for the visitors came via Johann Sadie, Tamaz Mchedlidze and Leka Tagotago.

Scrum-half Sébastien Bézy added four conversations in addition to his fourth minute five pointer.

The home side added a further three tries in the second half with Gillian Galan also scoring a brace and Corey Flynn joining him on the try scoring sheet.

Toulouse dominated the set pieces and never allowed the momentum to shift away from their threatening attacking prowess. They spotted gaps in the Agen defence with ease.

Late consolation tries from Mchedlidze and Tagotago were added for Agen, but the visitors were never in any position to realistically reduce the deficit built up by the home side in the first half. 

Agen, currently on 21 table points, find themselves one point behind fellow basement side Oyonnax. 

The Scorers:

For Toulouse:
Tries: Bézy, Fickou 2, Clerc, Picamoles, Flynn, Galan 2
Cons: Bézy 4, Mele 2

For Agen:
Tries: Sadie, Mchedlidze, Tagotago, 
Cons: Francis, Bouvier

Toulouse: 15 Clément Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Yann David, 12 Gaël Fickou, 11 Paul Perez, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Sébastien Bézy, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 François Cros, 6 Thierry S. Dusautoir, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Yoann Maestri, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Robert Flynn, 1 Cyril Baille
Replacements: 16 Christopher-Eric Tolofua, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Grégory Lamboley, 19 Gillian Galan, 20 Edwin Maka, 21 David Mele, 22 Florian Fritz, 23 Dorian Aldegheri

Agen: 15 Filipo Nakosi, 14 Leka Tagotago, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Lionel Mazars, 11 George Tilsley, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Paul Abadie, 8 Marc Baget-Rabarou, 7 Antoine Erbani, 6 Sione Tau, 5 Api Ratuniyarawa, 4 Marco Kotze, 3 Arthur Joly, 2 Mike Tadjer, 1 Viliamu Afatia
Replacements: 16 Jalil Narjissi, 17 Arsene Nnomo, 18 Corentin Braendlin, 19 Remy Vaquin, 20 Clément Darbo, 21 François Bouvier, 22 Tamaz Mchedlidze, 23 Dave Ryan