Tasman survive Hawke’s Bay fightback

Date published: September 24 2016

Tasman jumped up the Mitre 10 Cup table and out of trouble after claiming a 36-29 win over Hawke's Bay in Napier on Saturday.

Tasman drew first blood when inside centre David Havili broke the line using his fleet-footedness and strength before he had support in Tima Fainagaanuku, with the winger scoring. 

Hawke's Bay replied immediately after flanker Trent Boswell Wakefield touched down for his side after fly-half Ihaia West found himself in space and burnt round the defenders. He then spread it to Jonah Lowe who gave the ball to the flanker to score.

Tasman then got their own back after some great inter passing from the front-five who took the ball down the field. Then number eight Pete Samu received the ball in front of five defenders before he somehow evaded to dot down.

After a potential try scoring opportunity for Hawke's Bay which they fumbled, Tasman showed no sympathy for their opponents as centre Fonotia burst down the line and crashed over for a try.

Hawke's Bay still had a lot of fight left as flanker Tony Lamborn took a quick-tap and crashed through the Tasman to defence to score the try.

Five minutes later Lowe was given space after a blindside break by replacement scrum-half Chris Eaton and he provided another chance as play carried right up to the line. As the ball dropped free from the breakdown area, and replacement prop Jason Long picked it up and drove over.

Tasman closed out the game with some scintillating play. Samu broke the line up the midfield once again. where he swung the ball to Alex Nankivell who reeled in a hospital pass and recycled the ball to wing Caleb Makene who touched down for the try.

The scorers: 

For Hawke's Bay:
Tries: Boswell-Wakefield, Lamborn, Long, Lowe
Cons: West, Lowe
Pen: West

For Tasman:
Tries: Faingaanuku, Samu, Fonotia, Banks, Makene
Cons: Banks 4
Pen: Banks

Hawke's Bay: 15 Matt Garland, 14 Robbie Fruean, 13 Jonah Lowe, 12 Tiaan Falcon, 11 Mason Emerson, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Fa'alemiga Selesele, 7 Tony Lamborn, 6 Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 5 Mark Abbott, 4 Geoff Cridge, 3 Ben May, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Ricky Riccitelli
Replacements: 16 Jorain Tangaere, 17 Jason Long, 18 Tolu Fahamokioa, 19 Ross Filipo, 20 Ben Hamelink, 21 Chris Eaton, 22 Billy Ropiha, 23 Ryan Tongia

Tasman: 15 Mitchell Hunt, 14 Tima Faingaanuku, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Makene, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Tevita Koloamatangi, 5 Alex Ainley, 4 Quinten Strange, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Kane Hames
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Shannon Frizell, 19 Ethan Blackadder, 20 Finlay Christie, 21 Alex Nankivell, 22 Trael Joass