Szarzewski captains France

Date published: August 14 2015

Dimitri Szarzewski will captain France for the first time in Saturday's Rugby World Cup warm-up clash against England at Twickenham.

The Racing 92 hooker will also earn his 80th Test cap in his first appearance for les Bleus since March 2014.

Coach Philippe Saint-Andrè has also included half backs Morgan Parra and Francois Trinh-Duc in the starting XV ahead of what will be the 100th international meeting between the sides. 

Saint-Andrè expects a tough encounter against France's fierce rivals.

"After six weeks of training and being in camp, we need the test of coming to Twickenham to play England," he said.

"When you have a game against England it's always a huge challenge.

"We're not used to coming to England in August but the traffic was bad like normal and the weather was bad like normal. So on the pitch it will be like normal!

"Some of the players will be a little bit rusty from both teams, but it will be physical like it always is.

"I am happy with where we are because the guys have worked very hard and the spirit in the camp is good."

When asked why France had broken with established protocol by naming their team on the eve of the match, Saint-Andre said: "It was planned like this.

"My players knew the team a few days ago. And to be honest I knew a squad of 25 players last Sunday."

France: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Sofiane Guitoune, 13 Remi Lamerat, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Brice Dulin, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 6 Yannick Nyanga, 5. Yoann Maestri, 4 Alexandre Flanquart, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Vincent Debaty.
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Xavier Chiocci, 18 Uini Atonio, 19 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 20 Loann Goujon, 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Remi Tales, 23 Gael Fickou.

Date: Saturday, August 15
Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London
Kick-off: 20:00 local (19:00 GMT)
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Leighton Hodges (Wales)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)