Super Rugby Pacific: Jack Debreczeni debuts for the Brumbies as Noah Lolesio benched for Waratahs clash

Dylan Coetzee
Brumbies: Jack Debreczeni with ball in hand.

The Brumbies have left Wallabies half-back duo Nic White and Noah Lolesio on the bench for their first-round clash against the Waratahs in Sydney on Friday.

Playmaker Jack Debreczeni makes his Brumbies debut at fly-half this week and is alongside scrum-half Ryan Lonergan in the half-back pairing.

Former Blues centre Tamati Tua also makes his debut for the Brumbies this week at 12, next to Len Ikitau in the midfield. Tom Banks starts at full-back alongside Andy Muirhead and academy product Corey Toole on the wings.

There is another debutant in the front-row as Blake Schoupp starts at loosehead prop with Connal McInerney at hooker, and the experienced Wallaby Allan Alaalatoa packs down at tighthead.

Wallaby second-row

In the second-row there is an all Wallabies pairing in Nick Frost and Cadeyrn Neville; meanwhile, Rob Valetini starts on the side of the scrum alongside Rory Scott, with Pete Samu packing down at number eight.

There is experience on the bench in James Slipper and Lachlan Lonergan, while Rhys van Nek could be another debutant in round one. Darcy Swain is joined by Luke Reimer as the remaining forward replacements.

Ollie Sapsford joins the Wallabies duo of White and Lolesio as backline options for head coach Stephen Larkham.

The coach looks forward to seeing some of the debutants in action and getting the season on the go.

“The energy is building for this game, and we’re excited to see a number of new faces earn their first selection in a Brumbies jersey,” Larkham said.

“It’s a big occasion for the Waratahs and they’ve certainly talked pretty openly about their aspirations, but we know where we want to go as a team, and we’ll be ready to go at 7:35pm Friday night.”

Brumbies: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Tamati Tua, 11 Corey Toole, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Ryan Lonergan, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Rory Scott, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Cadeyrn Neville, 4 Nick Frost, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Connal McInerney, 1 Blake Schoupp
Replacements: 16 Lachlan Lonergan, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rhys Van Nek, 19 Darcy Swain, 20 Luke Reimer, 21 Nic White, 22 Noah Lolesio, 23 Ollie Sapsford

Date: Friday, February 24
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Jordan Way (Australia), David Conway (Australia)

READ MORE: Super Rugby Pacific: David Havili to start at 15 for Crusaders against Chiefs