Stormers recall their big guns

Date published: June 18 2015

The Stormers have recalled all of their big guns to their starting line-up that will face the Brumbies in their Super Rugby Qualifier on Saturday.

Outside centre Juan de Jongh returns and will join Damian de Allende in the midfield, with Nic Groom and Demetri Catrakilis partnering at half-back.

The back-three of Cheslin Kolbe, Dillyn Leyds and Seabelo Senatla has been reunited.

Up front, Nizaam Carr – the only starting survivor from Durban – will pack down at number eight in a powerful forward pack, with hooker Scarra Ntubeni (calf muscle) passed fit to join the bench.

Ntubeni, props Ali Vermaak and Vincent Koch, lock Jean Kleyn and loose forward Michael Rhodes will serve as the forwards replacements, with Louis Schreuder, Kurt Coleman and Jaco Taute the backline replacements.

"Knockout matches are different to league matches," said coach Allister Coetzee.

"You only get one shot at it, you have to be on your game and you have to ensure you dominate physically from the outset. To ask players to be physical in the quarters is to express an understatement.

"The Brumbies are a tough team, a physical team, and will rely on their well-drilled consistent set-piece. We know they have got line speed and we know they attack the breakdown. We are certainly bracing ourselves for a physical battle."

Stormers: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Michael Rhodes, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Jaco Taute.

Date: Saturday, 20 June
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:05 local (13:05 GMT, 1:05 AEST, 3:05 NZST)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Craig Joubert, Jason Jaftha
TMO: Deon van Blommestein