Stormers name touring squad

Date published: April 16 2017

Stormers head coach Robbie Fleck has announced a 27-man squad for their upcoming tour to New Zealand.

The Cape Town-based franchise will face the Crusaders, Highlanders and Hurricanes on their three-week tour of New Zealand, which is the first time they have visited the country since 2015.

With six wins from their seven games this season, the Stormers currently top the Africa 1 Conference, 16 log points ahead of their nearest challengers, the Bulls.

Fleck said that the squad is looking forward to the challenge of playing three games in New Zealand.

“As a group we enjoy touring together and we know that we will be seriously tested against some quality teams in New Zealand,” he told the Stormers’ official website.

“The players have embraced the challenge and we are keen to make the most of our time together on tour, which should bring us even closer together,” he said.

Stormers squad:

Forwards:  Nizaam Carr, Jan de Klerk, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, JC Janse van Rensburg, Oli Kebble, Siya Kolisi (c), Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Ramone Samuels, Alistair Vermaak, Chris van Zyl, Cobus Wiese

Backs: Bjorn Basson, Kurt Coleman, Dan du Plessis, Robert du Preez, Dewaldt Duvenage, Cheslin Kolbe, Dan Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, SP Marais, Shaun Treeby, Jano Vermaak, EW Viljoen