Stormers make fourteen changes

Date published: June 11 2015

The Stormers have made a huge fourteen changes to their starting side that will face the Sharks, with Nizaam Carr the lone survivor in the XV.

Carr will line up at number eight in a much-changed team from last week.

There are three Stormers debutants in the matchday 23, with Robert du Preez starting at full-back in his first taste of Super Rugby action and flanker Sikhumbuzo Notshe and hooker Michael Willemse making their first starts at this level.

Lock Jan de Klerk and scrum-half Godlen Masimla will be looking to earn their first caps from the bench, whilst vice-captain Jaco Taute (inside centre – in his 50th overall Super Rugby appearance), Michael Rhodes (blindside) and Kobus van Wyk (on the bench) are back in the mix following their injury lay-offs.

"We have a great opportunity here to give game time to some fringe players and to continue to increase the capacity within our squad," Stormers coach Allister Coetzee told

"Players like Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Eben Etzebeth, Manny Carizza, Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nic Groom, Demetri Catrakilis, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Dillyn Leyds and Cheslin Kolbe have played a lot of rugby and deserve a break.

"However, the likes of Oli Kebble, Vincent Koch, Ruan Botha, Michael Rhodes, Louis Schreuder, Kurt Coleman, Jaco Taute, Johnny Kotze – to name just a few – are by no means second-string players and they all have a massive opportunity to play for starting positions.

"We're in a fortunate position to be able to select a talented group of players who have everything to play for against a Sharks team that will be fired up and looking to finish their season on a high.

"The Sharks are also saying goodbye to three big players, loyal servants, so we’re expecting a brutal clash and know we need to be up for this match – physically and mentally."

Stormers: 15 Robert du Preez, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Seabelo Senatla, 23 Kobus van Wyk.

Date: Saturday, June 13
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19:10 local (17:10 GMT, 03:10 AEST, 05:10 NZST)
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman, Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker