Stade Français return to winning ways

Date published: March 5 2017

Stade Français ended their three-match winless run when they claimed an emphatic 32-9 victory over Bordeaux-Bègles at Stade Jean Bouin on Sunday.

The home side were full value for this win as they outscored UBB by three tries to none with all their five-pointers notched in the first half and Jules Plisson also deserves special praise as he finished with a 17-point haul courtesy of a conversion and five penalties.

Plisson and Simon Hickey traded early penalties which meant Stade led 6-3 by the eighth minute, but the game came alive three minutes later when Waisea Nayacalevu went over for the opening try.

Five minutes later, the home side were celebrating again after Djibril Camara scored their second try, which Plisson converted, and shortly afterwards Jeremy Sinzelle made it 23-3 to Stade when he dotted down.

Hickey added his second penalty in the 27th minute but the hosts were in the driving seat as they led 23-6 at the break.

The second half was a more cautious affair as Plisson added three more penalties and UBB's only points came via an Ian Madigan three-pointer off the kicking tee.

The scorers:

For Stade Français:
Nayacalevu, Camara, Sinzelle
Con: Plisson
Pens: Plisson 5
Yellow Card: Doumayrou

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Hickey 2, MadigN
Yellow Card: Talebula

Stade Français: 15 Djibril Camara, 14 Waisea Nayacalevu, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Jeremy Sinzelle, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jonathan Ross, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Paul Gabrillagues, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Heinke Van der Merwe 
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Aled De Malmanche, 18 Pascal Papé, 19 Sylvain Nicolas, 20 Julien Dupuy, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Paul Williams, 23 Giorgi Melikidze

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Jean-Marcellin Buttin, 14 Nans Ducuing, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Metuisela Talebula, 11 Jean-Baptiste Dubie, 10 Simon Hickey, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 5 Cyril Cazeaux, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Sebastien Taofifenua 
Replacements: 16 Clement Maynadier, 17 Jefferson Poirot, 18 Jandré Marais, 19 Hugh Chalmers, 20 Gauthier Doubrere, 21 Darly Domvo, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Marc Clerc

Referee: Adrien Descottes
Assistant Referees: Ludovic Cayre, Patrick Beuriot
TMO: Arnaud Blondel