Stade Français claim vital win over Harlequins

Date published: January 22 2017

Stade Français qualified for the European Rugby Challenge Cup Quarter-Finals when they beat Harlequins 27-17 at Stade Jean Bouin.

The game got off to a late start after the pitch was deemed frozen and had to be fixed by the grounds men. Stade Français weren’t put off by the cold though as they scored first when Waisea Vuidarvuwalu crossed the line. The Parisians then consolidated their lead when replacement Julien Arias scored in the 24th minute.

The first half belonged to the hosts as they kept their England-based visitors scoreless as the first half ended 17-0. The Quins came out of the changing rooms with a different attitude though as Mathew Luamanu scored his side’s first points of the game in the 41st minute.

The home side then replied in astute fashion when former Wallabies Will Genia started a move from inside his 40 metre line that would see replacement hooker Craig Burden touch down under the posts.

The prolific attacking capabilities of Marland Yarde could not be denied by the hosts as he sliced through the Stade Français defence and added five points to his side’s tally and South African recruit Tim Swiel knocked the conversion over.

Harlequins had the last say when replacement James Chisholm crossed the line in the dying moments of the game, but it wasn’t enough to win his side the vital clash.

The scorers:

For Stade Français:
Nayacalevu, Arias, Burden
Cons: Plisson 3
Pens: Plisson 2

For Harlequins:
Luamanu, Yarde, Chisholm
Cons: Swiel

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Jérémy Sinzelle, 13 Waisea Vuidarvuwalu, 12 Herman Meyer Bosman, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Will Genia, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Raphaël Lakafia, 6 Sylvain Nicolas, 5 Pascal Papé, 4 Paul Gabrillagues, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Laurent Panis, 1 Zurabi Zhvania
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Emmanuel Felsina, 18 Giorgi Melikidze, 19 Hugh Pyle, 20 Jonathan Ross, 21 Clement Daguin, 22 Théo Millet, 23 Julien Arias

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Matt Hopper, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Danny Care, 8 Mat Luamanu, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 Jack Clifford, 5 James Horwill, 4 George Merrick, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Dan Murphy
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Charlie Matthews, 20 James Chisholm, 21 Karl Dickson, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Alofa Alofa

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Leo Colgan (Ireland), Mark Patton (Ireland)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)