Springboks snub headlines Stormers’ 15-player clearout, Bulls swoop for back-row pair

Jared Wright
Hacjivah Dayimani and Stormers boss John Dobson.

Hacjivah Dayimani and Stormers boss John Dobson.

The Stormers have confirmed a list of 15 players who will be leaving the United Rugby Championship side following the conclusion of the 2023/24 season.

Headlining the outgoing players is back-row Hacjivah Dayimani, who leaves the Cape-based franchise after being overlooked by the Springbok selectors once again.

Dayimani has been a revelation in the Stormers‘ loose trio since arriving at the side from the Lions in 2021 and is now reportedly heading to France to join Top 14 giants Racing 92.

Stormers’ departees

The elusive forward was reportedly contracted until the end of the 2024/25 season but it is understood that the Stormers waived a fee to buy him out of the remainder of his deal.

The 26-year-old loose forward is set to link up with Siya Kolisi at Racing 92 and he is not the only back-rower leaving the Stormers after director of rugby John Dobson explained that several players weren’t getting enough game time.

Flankers Nama Xaba and Junior Pokomela have both been linked with moves to the Bulls ahead of next season with the Stormers confirming the pair’s departure. Back-five forward Simon Miller is another loose forward option leaving the side.

Props Kwenzo Blose, Leon Lyons and Lee-Marvin Mazibuko have also not renewed their contracts with the Stormers along with fellow front-rower Chad Solomon (hooker).

Ranked: The 20 best United Rugby Championship signings of the 2023/24 season

The list of departees includes players who had left during the season such as Kade Wolhuter, who joined the Lions and Cornel Smit, who linked up with the Bulls.

Tristan Leyds has been involved with the South African 7s team and will not return to the Stormers next season.

Meanwhile, scrum-half Godlen Masimla has also been released following the expiration of his contract.

Centres Chris Hollis and Jarrod Taylor have both headed to Wales during the season, while fellow midfielder Mnombo Zwelendaba will also leave the club.

Reports suggested that the Stormers would be losing scrum-half Paul de Wet to the Bulls but he has not been named on the leavers’ list.

The Stormers have already announced that Steven Kitshoff and JD Schickerling have signed to rejoin the side ahead of the new season.

Stormers’ leavers 2023/24 season

Kwenzo Blose, Tristan Leyds, Simon Miller, Kade Wolhuter, Godlen Masimla, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Chris Hollis, Nama Xaba, Chad Solomon, Cornel Smit, Junior Pokomela, Leon Lyons, Hacjivah Dayimani, Jarrod Taylor, Mnombo Zwelendaba

READ MORE: Springboks: Eligibility law loophole boosts Rassie Erasmus’ options against Wales