South Africa announce series against France

Date published: November 15 2016

The Springboks will host France in a three-match Test series in June 2017.

The South African Rugby Union has comfirmed the three matches will be played on 10, 17 and 24 June. Since the British and Irish Lions are touring to New Zealand next year, France were the only “big” team left in the northern hemisphere who could face South Africa.

The Boks almost lost a series to Ireland in June this year. It will be the first time since 2010, when they lost 42-17 at Newlands, that France will visit South Africa.

Next year’s tour will be the longest France tour to South Africa since 1967, a four-match series the Boks won 2-1 after the final Test ended in a 6-6 draw.