Siya Kolisi powers Racing 92 to Champions Cup knockouts in thrashing of Cardiff

Dylan Coetzee
Racing 92 star Siya Kolisi looks on.

Racing 92 star Siya Kolisi looks on.

Springboks captain Siya Kolisi scored for Racing 92 in their 48-26 win over Cardiff in the Investec Champions Cup, which sees the side qualify for the play-offs.

Joining Kolisi on the scoresheet was Kitione Kamikamica, Inia Tabuavou, Tristan Tedder, Christian Wade, Maxime Baudonne and Janick Tarrit as the hosts ran in a whopping seven tries in front of their fans.

Tedder also kicked five conversions whilst Nolann Le Garrec added a penalty.

For the visitors there were three tries scored in the loss thanks to a Tomos Williams brace as well as scores from Rhys Carre and Tinus de Beer who also kicked three conversions.

Click here for scorers

Racing 92 opened the scoring through a La Garrec penalty just four minutes in. It did not take long for a response as Carre crashed over for Cardiff with De Beer kicking the extras.

Fans had to wait for the next score with Kamikamica scoring a try in the 18th minute as Tedder added the extras. Racing were at it again six minutes later as Kolisi powered his way over for a brilliant try with Tedder missing the kick on this occasion.

Once again the hosts scored through Tabuavou in the 32nd minute with the conversion missed before Williams grabbed his first try on the stroke of half-time.

Racing 92 claimed the all important first score in the second half through Tedder who nudged the conversion over for his first try.

He would be required again in the 46th minute to convert Wade’s try as the gap between the sides widened. Five minutes later thing got worse for Cardiff as Baudonne scored a converted try.

Cardiff tried to launch a mini comeback through converted tries from Williams and De Beer but it was Racing with the final nail in coffin as Tarrit crossed with five minutes to go. Tedder nailed the conversion as Racing march on.

The teams

Racing 92: 15 Tristan Tedder, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Gael Fickou (c), 12 Inia Tabuavou, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Antoine Gibert, 9 Nolann Le Garrec, 8 Kitione Kamikamica, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Ibrahim Diallo, 5 Will Rowlands, 4 Cameron Woki, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Hassane Kolingar
Replacements: 16 Janick Tarrit, 17 Eddy Ben Arous, 18 Gia Kharaishvili, 19 Fabien Sanconnie, 20 Maxime Baudonne, 21 Clovis le Bail, 22 Olivier Klemenczak, 23 Donovan Taofifenua

Cardiff: 15 Jacob Beetham, 14 Aled Summerhill, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Ben Thomas, 11 Mason Grady, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Mackenzie Martin, 7 Ellis Jenkins (c), 6 Alex Mann, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Teddy Williams, 3 Keiron Assiratti, 2 Efan Daniel, 1 Rhys Carre
Replacements: 16 Dafydd Hughes, 17 Rhys Barratt, 18 Rhys Litterick, 19 Seb Davies, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Thomas Young, 22 Ellis Bevan, 23 Owen Lane

Referee: Christophe Ridley (Eng)
Assistant Referees: TBC
TMO: Tom Foley (Eng)

READ MORE: Bulls qualify for Champions Cup knockouts after nervy bonus-point win over Bordeaux-Begles