Sharks change one for Western Province

Date published: September 1 2016

Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has made one change to his starting line-up for Saturday's clash with Western Province in Cape Town.

The enforced change comes amongst the backs where Lwazi Mvovo is replaced by S’bura Sithole on the wing after the former was recalled to the Springbok touring squad.

Western Province have played one less match than the Sharks, courtesy of a week two bye, and suffered early defeats – to the Blue Bulls (45-26) and Free State (32-25) before notching up their first win of the tournament, against Eastern Province last weekend, a comfortable 36-6 victory in Port Elizabeth.

They will be looking to continue the success of last week against the tournament front-runners, the Sharks who have managed to get to the halfway point of the competition without dropping a match, having earned 19 out of a possible 20 points in the standings.

Matches between these two teams never fail to impress as the healthy competition that exists between them always produces fireworks.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S’bura Sithole, 10 Inny Radebe, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman 
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Rhyno Smith

Date: Saturday, September 3
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17:10 local (15:10 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Referees: Quinton Immelman, Jaco Kotze
TMO: Marius Jonker