Seven-try WP put Pumas to the sword

Date published: September 26 2015

Western Province's fine recent form continued when they claimed a 50-19 win over the Pumas at Newlands on Saturday.

The home side outscored their visitors by seven tries to three to claim their fourth-straight victory and consolidate their place among the tournament's frontrunners.

Robert du Preez was the Province's hero, contributing 21 points via two tries, four conversions and a penalty.

Despite the big winning margin, the home side lacked intensity in the opening period and trailed 19-15 at half-time. But they were a totally different side after the interval and stepped up a gear to take control of proceedings.

WP made a bright start when their captain Nizaam Carr showed a superb turn of speed to open the scoring in the fifth minute but the Pumas struck back when Rosco Specman crossed for their first try.

Things went pear-shaped for the hosts when Johnny Kotze was sin binned for a spear-tackle and Springbok prop Vincent Koch soon powerd his way over the tryline to give the visitors the lead for the first time.

To their credit, WP fought back when Jano Vermaak got over for their second try but Specman crossed again, five minutes later, which meant the visitors had their tails up at the break.

WP were a totally different side in the second half and soon added their third try. Kobus van Wyk got his name onto the scoresheet after his forwards did well in the build-up with a big driving maul inside the Pumas' 22.

The hosts soon increased their lead when Du Preez crossed for a five-pointer, after diving over from close quarters before going over for his brace on the hour-mark.

The Pumas seemed shell-shocked but WP weren't done yet. Replacement loose forward Jurie van Vuuren got over for their sixth try before Vermaak crossed for his second shortly before full-time to add the final nail in the visitors' coffin.

The result is an important one for Province as they are now level on 29 points with the Bulls in second place on the table after eight rounds of matches.

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Tries: Du Preez 2, Vermaak 2, Carr, Van Wyk, Van Vuuren
Cons: Du Preez 4, Catrakilis 2
Pen: Du Preez
Yellow card: Kotze

For Pumas:
Tries: Specman 2, Koch
Cons: Van Staden 3

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Jean Kleyn, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Demetri Catrakilis, 22 Jaco Taute.

Pumas: 15 Hoffmann Maritz, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Wilmaure Louw, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Francois de Klerk (c), 8 Jason-Colin Fraser, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corné Fourie.
Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Rudi Mathee, 19 Uzair Cassiem, 20 Johan Herbst, 21 Hennie Skorbinski, 22 Deon Helberg.

Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni