Seven-try Harlequins thrash Welsh

Date published: October 4 2014

Harlequins returned to the victory trail in style with a 52-0 win over London Welsh at the Stoop on Saturday.

Harlequins returned to the victory trail in style with a 52-0 win over London Welsh at the Stoop on Saturday.

Welsh succumbed to a fifth consecutive heavy defeat as Harlequins crossed over for seven tries.

Mike Brown and Danny Care tries, plus seven points from the boot of Nick Evans, eased Quins into a 17-0 advantage at the interval.

Marland Yarde and Matt Hopper crossed the whitewash after the break to secure the five points before further tries from Karl Dickson, Yarde and a penalty try completed the scoring.

And they got off to the worse possible start at the Twickenham Stoop when in the fifth minute England full-back Brown crossed the whitewash.

As in their opening encounters, they were struggling to match the pace and intensity of their opponents, and it wasn’t long before they conceded their second try.

The Quins forwards made the initial incursions before Asaeli Tikoirotuma broke through a gaping hole in the visiting defence and off-loaded to Care who touched down.

Evans added a penalty to take the hosts 17 points clear before the Exiles found some spirit to put pressure on the opposition defence, but the home side held out until half-time.

Head coach Justin Burnell needed a response in the second period but within five minutes of the restart, Harlequins effectively ended any chances of a comeback.

Two tries in as many minutes from Yarde – his first for the club – and Hopper secured the bonus-point and the victory.

With the match already won, the game lost its fluency and it took until 15 minutes from time for the hosts to extend their lead with a penalty try.

The floodgates opened once again and scores from Dickson and Yarde completed yet another miserable day for Welsh.

The scorers:

For Harlequins:
Tries: Yarde 2, Brown, Care, Hopper, Dickson, penalty try
Cons: Evans 7
Pen: Evans

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Matt Hopper, 12 Tom Casson, 11 Aseli Tikoirotuma, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Luke Wallace, 5 George Robson, 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Joe Gray, 1 Joe Marler (c)
Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Mark Lambert, 18 Will Collier, 19 Sam Twomey, 20 Joe Trayfoot,, 21 Karl Dickson, 22 Ben Botica, 23 Ollie Lindsay-Hague

London Welsh: 15 Seb Jewell, 14 Seb Stegmann, 13 Nic Reynolds, 12 Tom May (c), 11 Nick Scott, 10 Olly Barkley, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Ollie Stedman, 7 Lachlan McCaffrey, 6 Peter Browne 5 James Down, 4 Dean Schofield, 3 Taione Vea, 2 Koree Britton, 1 Ricky Reeves.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Morris, 17 Pablo Henn, 18 Eddie Aholelei, 19 Ben Pienaar, 20 Chris Hala’ufia, 21 Rob Lewis, 22 Tristan Roberts, 23 Rhys Crane.

Date: Saturday, October 4
Venue: The Stoop
Kickoff: 15:00 local (14:00 GMT)
Referee: Dean Richards
Assistant Referees: Kevin Stewart, Andy Watson
TMO: Trevor Fisher