Scotland Women end seven-year Six Nations wait

Date published: February 24 2017

Scotland won their first Women’s Six Nations game in seven years after defeating Wales 15-14 in Cumbernauld.

Sarah Law’s late penalty sparked dramatic scenes at Broadwood Stadium, as Scotland came from 7-14 down at half-time to snatch a historic win, and their first since 2010.

Wales were in control for the majority of the first half, scoring tries through Carys Phillips and a penalty try to establish a commanding 14-0 lead.

But Scotland responded right before the break, thanks to a score from Rhona Lloyd converted by Law.

Lloyd’s crucial second score after 60 minutes was made by a powerful carry from Scotland number eight Jade Konkel, but Law couldn’t convert, leaving Scotland trailing by two points.

Scotland threw everything at the Welsh defence until the in the 77th minute they were awarded a kickable penalty, which the Scotland scrum-half converted before the hosts clung on.

The scorers:

For Scotland:
Tries: Lloyd 2
Con: Law
Pen: Law

For Wales:
Tries: C Phillips, Penalty Try
Cons: Snowsill 2

Scotland: 15 Chloe Rollie, 14 Megan Gaffney, 13 Lisa Thomson, 12 Lisa Martin (c), 11 Rhona Lloyd, 10 Helen Nelson, 9 Sarah Law, 8 Jade Konkel 7 Louise McMillan, 6 Jemma Forsyth, 5 Deborah McCormack, 4 Emma Wassell, 3 Lindsey Smith, 2 Lana Skeldon, 1 Tracey Balmer
Replacements: 16 Lucy Park, 17 Heather Lockhart, 18 Katie Dougan, 19 Sarah Bonar, 20 Lyndsay O’Donnell, 21 Jenny Maxwell, 22 Eilidh Sinclair, 23 Lauren Harris

Wales: 15 Dyddgu Hywel, 14 Jasmine Joyce, 13 Kerin Lake, 12 Rebecca de Filippo, 11 Elan Evans, 10 Elinor Snowsill, 9 Rhiannon Parker, 8 Rachel Taylor 7 Sioned Harries, 6 Alisha Butchers, 5 Melissa Clay, 4 Rebecca Rowe, 3 Amy Evans, 2 Carys Phillips (c), 1 Cerys Hale
Replacements: 16 Lpwri Harries, 17 Gwenllian Pyrs, 18 Caryl Thomas, 19 Siwan Lillicrap, 20 Nia Davies, 21 Sian Moore, 22 Robyn Wilkins, 23 Gemma Rowland

Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Joy Neville (Ireland), Alex Pratt
TMO: Stefano Pennè (Italy)

Photo credit: Women’s Six Nations Facebook page