Scotland change one for France

Date published: February 10 2017

Scotland flanker John Barclay replaces Ryan Wilson in their side to face France after Wilson failed to recover sufficiently from an elbow infection.

Full-back Stuart Hogg will become the youngest player in history to reach a half century of Scotland caps, in a side that features one change in Paris this Sunday in the Six Nations.

At 24 years and 233 days old come kick-off, Hogg will overtake previous record-holder Richie Gray, who made his 50th appearance during the 2015 Rugby World Cup, aged 26.

He will be the 40th Scotland player in history to reach the landmark and the seventh-youngest player in world rugby history to mark a half-century of test appearances.

Scotland Head Coach Vern Cotter, said: “Congratulations to Hoggy on what will be a special milestone.

"It’s a fantastic personal achievement, especially at such a young age, which is a good indication of how talented an individual he is and how important he’s been to Scotland teams over the past five years.

"He’s a very exciting player and, at just 24, he has a huge amount to offer Scotland for many more years to come."

Back-row John Barclay is the only change to the starting Scotland side as a straight replacement for Ryan Wilson, who has failed to recover sufficiently from an elbow infection.

Edinburgh’s John Hardie – who was due to start against Ulster in the PRO12 on Friday – is named in the vacated place on the bench.

The rest of the side is unchanged, with man-of-the-match against Ireland, Hogg, returning to marshal the back-field alongside familiar wing-men Sean Maitland and Tommy Seymour.

Try-scorer Alex Dunbar pairs up with Huw Jones in midfield with half-backs Finn Russell and captain Greig Laidlaw also starting.

Cotter has also shown faith in his starting pack, with hooker Fraser Brown – replaced in the 25th minute with an eye injury – returning to start once again.

The replacements are otherwise unchanged, meaning Edinburgh prop Simon Berghan is primed to make his debut if called upon from the bench.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Allan Dell
Replacements: 16 Ross Ford, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 John Hardie, 21 Ali Price, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Mark Bennett

Date: Sunday, February 12
Venue: Stade de France, Paris
Kick-off: 16:00 local (15:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Johnny Lacey (Ireland), Luke Pearce (England)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)