SBW out as Chiefs swap four

Date published: March 19 2015

Sonny Bill Williams will not feature for the Chiefs in their clash with the Sharks this week as Dave Rennie makes four changes.

SBW suffered a head knock in last weekend's win over the Stormers, and while he is now symptom-free, he had not passed the return to play protocols in time.

As a result Seta Tamanivalu takes his place at outside centre, where he will link up with Andrew Horrell, who replaces the injured Tim Nanai-Williams.

The other changes come in the front row where Jamie Mackintosh and Siate Tokolahi are drafted into the starting lineup.

Having struggled for much of the win over the Stormers, the Chiefs' set-piece was transformed when Mackintosh entered the fray last week, and as a result he and Tokolahi get the start.

There have been wholesale changes on the bench, with Rhys Marshall, Ben Tameifuna, Mitchell Graham, Johan Bardoul and Hosea Gear all included.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (c), 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Jamie Mackintsoh
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Johan Bardoul, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Tom Marshall, 23 Hosea Gear

Date: Saturday, March 21
Kick-off: 19:10 local (17.10 GMT, 06.10 NZST, 04.10 AEST)
Venue: Kings Park
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)
Television match official: Marius Jonker (South Africa)