Saracens too strong for Leicester

Date published: April 11 2015

Saracens avoided a Champions Cup hangover on Saturday as they came from behind to defeat Leicester Tigers 22-6 in the Premiership.

The hosts went into half-time just in front of their visitors courtesy of a late try from number eight Billy Vunipola. 

Leicester were only a point behind in the first-half after two penalties for Freddie Burns, meaning they were trailing by just 7-6 at the half-time whistle. 

The home side scored two further tries in the second-half via Marcelo Bosch and Chris Wyles and there was a penalty for Charlie Hodgson to secure them the win. Leicester failed to score any further points and were convincingly beaten 22-6. 

Burns opened with a successful penalty kick after just three minutes of the first-half had been played. The fly-half was in again on ten minutes with Saracens unable to reply after unsuccessful attempts by both Bosch and Alex Goode. 

However they were given a lifeline when Tom Youngs was shown a yellow card on 36 minutes for a tackle off the ball. With the man advantage, Vunipola showed his strength by swivelling past the defence and reaching out to touch down over the line on 39 minutes, giving his team the 7-6 lead at half-time. 

Just a minute into the second half, Saracens took advantage of the numerical advantage once again and a series of passes out wide found Bosch who dived straight over the line to score. 

Minutes later, the Leicester defence were once again sucked in and Wyles was able to crash over in the corner. 

Hodgson then added the penalty before the Tigers saw Niki Goneva sent to the sin-bin, putting an end to an all-round bad afternoon for the visitors.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: B Vunipola, Bosch, Wyles
Con: Hodgson 2
Pen: Hodgson

For Leicester:
Pen: Burns 2

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Jackson Wray, 5 Alistair Hargreaves (c), 4 George Kruis, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 James Johnston, 19 Maro Itoje, 20 Ernst Joubert, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Duncan Taylor, 23 David Strettle.

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Niall Morris, 13 Matt Smith, 12 Seremaia Bai, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Ben Youngs (c), 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Sebastian De Chaves, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs, 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Logovi'i Mulipola, 19 Graham Kitchener, 20 Laurence Pearce, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Adam Thompstone.

Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank, Robin Goodliffe
TMO: David Grashoff