Sam Warburton: Former Wales skipper picks his Six Nations Team of the Tournament

Jared Wright
Six Nations Sam Warburton has selected seven Ireland players, four France players, three Scotland players, one Italian and no players from Wales or England

Former Wales and Lions captain Sam Warburton has selected his Six Nations team of the Tournament.

Warburton has selected seven Grand Slam-winning Ireland players, with no England and Wales players cracking the nod for his team.

In addition to the seven Ireland players, he has selected four players from runners-up France as well as three Scotland players and one from Italy.

The backs

Selecting his team for BBC Sport, Warburton’s first Ireland player features at fullback in the form of Hugo Keenan.

Keenan is joined in Warburton’s team by the tournament’s top scorer Damian Penaud, who ran in five tries, including two against England in Round Four.

Scotland‘s Duhan van der Merwe completes the back three and is joined in the team by teammate Sione Tuipulotu who is selected at inside centre.

Outside of Tuipulotu is France centre Gael Fickou with his captain Antoine Dupont at scrumhalf and Ireland captain Johnny Sexton at flyhalf.

Warburton said Sexton was Ireland’s “colonel” and that he would have the veteran playmaker as his current number 10 for the British and Irish Lions.

“I’m a bit more risk averse, so that is why I like Johnny Sexton – because he is less risky and has less errors in his game,” he said.

He selected Penaud as his player of the tournament, saying: “I just love Penaud. 

“Dupont is the best player in the tournament, but I think Penaud is a brilliant player,” he added.

The pack

Caelan Doris is at number eight in the pack, and Josh van der Flier is on the openside. The only Azzurri player to make the team features at blindside flank, with Sebastian Negri claiming the number six jumper.

James Ryan and Thibaud Flament claim the lock positions. Scotland’s Pierre Schoeman is picked alongside Ireland’s Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong. 

Cast your vote for Planet Rugby’s Readers’ Six Nations Team on Twitter.

Sam Warburton’s Six Nations Team of the Championship: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Sebastian Negri, 5 Thibaud Flament, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Pierre Schoeman.

READ MORE: England: Jack Willis ‘nearly there’ as he secures his future past this season with ‘financial stability’ a deciding factor