Rebels name 2015 leadership group

Date published: January 27 2015

Melbourne Rebels head coach Tony McGahan has announced his leadership group for the 2015 Super Rugby season.

Prop Laurie Weeks and back rowers Scott Fuglistaller and Scott Higginbotham retain their places from the 2014 leadership group, while hooker Pat Leafa and scrum-half Nic Stirzaker are added into the five-man group for the first time.

McGahan believes the group will lead the franchise with pride during the upcoming season.

“The leadership credentials of all five players chosen were acknowledged by their team-mates and the club’s on-field staff, during a thorough process which identified the best people to take the club forward at this point in time,” he explained.

“Fuglistaller, Higginbotham and Weeks experienced many different circumstances last season in their roles and those experiences, both positive and challenging, will be important in shaping the squad in 2015.

“Along with Pat and Nic, young leaders with a great connection to the direction of the club in oncoming years, we are confident that these five players, with the support of the entire Rebels organisation, will do a fantastic job.”