Quiz: Can you name every World Rugby Player of the Year?

Jared Wright
World Rugby Awards 2023 on October 29, 2023 at opera Garnier in Paris, France.

Give it a bash and see if you can name all the World Rugby Player of the Year winners.

In 2001, the World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year was introduced, and in our latest quiz, we challenge you to name every winner since the first recipient.

As per usual, we will provide you with a host of hints and clues to help you complete the list, but if you fancy your chances of getting the lot without any assistance, then skip right to it.

Since its introduction, the Player of the Year has been crowned 21 times, with the only exception being in 2020 due to the lack of international rugby that year.

Throughout the years, New Zealand have dominated the winners and nominees lists with 31 All Blacks nominated while 11 have claimed the top accolade.

South Africa, Ireland and France have produced three winners of the award, while two All Blacks have claimed the accolade three times.

A star from England and Wales have also claimed the top gong, with Australia producing 15 nominees, but a Wallaby has never claimed the crown.

An Irishman was the first player to claim the title in 2001, with a Frenchman securing the award the following year.

During the Rugby World Cup years, a star who featured in the final of the tournament has won the award on each occasion. In 2011 and 2023, a player from the losing team in the final went on to claim the accolade.

Quiz: Can you name every Rugby World Cup Final try-scorer?

Think you’re up for the challenge now? Try naming all the stars who have been named World Rugby Player of the Year.

Note: Just the players’ surnames will do.

Can you name every Men’s World Rugby Player of the Year?


Were you able to name them all?

Let us know how you do by commenting below or on our social media platforms.

Also, try out our other quizzes.

Try another quiz: Can you name all 44 two-time Rugby World Cup winners?