PRO12 Dream Team announced

Date published: May 11 2015

The 2014/15 PRO12 Dream Team was announced on Monday, with three representatives from the Ospreys, Glasgow and Ulster named in the side.

The team was voted on by a panel of eleven journalists from all four countries.

Before they were whisked away on international duty in February, half-backs Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar ruled the roost in the PRO12. Webb shot out into an early lead in the try-scoring table, while Biggar's unerring boot was impressive.

Now they have returned to aid the Ospreys' title push, Steve Tandy's outfit beating Glasgow Warriors 21-10 – Webb among the scorers – to go top of the pile heading into the final round. They have been joined in the Dream Team by captain Alun Wyn Jones, just one of three players – Biggar and Scarlets full-back Liam Williams the other two – to retain their spots from last year's Dream Team.

The only man with more PRO12 tries this season than Webb is Ulster wing Craig Gilroy, who is one of three entrants from Belfast. The other two come from a powerful pack, hooker Rory Best joined in the Dream Team's tight five by influential South African lock Franco van der Merwe.

Munster – another side still well in the title hunt – make up two thirds of the back row, with the province's player of the season CJ Stander on the blindside.

He is joined by Tommy O'Donnell on the other flank, the 27-year-old enjoying a productive season in both the green of Ireland and the red of Munster.

Glasgow Warriors make up the top four, though they were knocked off top spot by Ospreys on Friday, and also boast three entrants – meaning this year's play-off quartet make up eleven of the fifteen players selected.

Tommy Seymour takes his place on the right wing after another bright campaign, while Peter Horne is at inside centre.

Horne has shown his versatility this season, starting at full-back, fly-half and in the centres on various occasions, as well as regularly taking on kicking duties in the absence of Finn Russell and Duncan Weir.

And in the pack Josh Strauss takes the number eight shirt, the South African going from strength to strength in his third season at Scotstoun.

There is another South African at tighthead in Edinburgh's WP Nel, while Connacht prop Denis Buckley is rewarded for an impressive campaign with the number one shirt.

His teammate Robbie Henshaw is at outside centre, the 21-year-old having established himself as a regular fixture in Ireland's midfield, while Wales international Liam Williams is again at full-back.

Guinness PRO12 Dream Team of the 2014/15 Season: 15 Liam Williams (Scarlets), 14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), 13 Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), 12 Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), 11 Craig Gilroy (Ulster), 10 Dan Biggar (Ospreys), 9 Rhys Webb (Ospreys), 8 Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), 7 Tommy O'Donnell (Munster), 6 CJ Stander (Munster), 5 Franco van der Merwe (Ulster), 4 Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), 3 WP Nel (Edinburgh), 2 Rory Best (Ulster), 1 Denis Buckley (Connacht).