Preview: Wellington Sevens

Date published: January 29 2016

We're onto Round Three of the Sevens World Series this weekend as Wellington plays host to the latest action from the tournament.

Sonny Bill Williams will be the star name this weekend as he prepares to make his New Zealand Sevens debut for Sir Gordon Tietjens side.

After Dubai and Cape Town, where eight different teams made the semi-finals and Fiji and South Africa won the Cup tournaments, all eyes are now on the Westpac Stadium this weekend.

South Africa are the form team heading into the tournament having won the second round of the series on home soil in Cape Town, but with New Zealand the defending champions naming a strong squad, Fiji ahead of them in the standing by points difference and the likes of USA, Kenya, Australia, England, France and Argentina all snapping at the heels more thrills and spills are expected.

Philip Snyman, who is captaining the Blitzboks in Kyle Brown's absence and for the first time, said: "It's my first time being captain and I have got some pretty big shoes to fill. We've had some really good preparation since Cape Town and the week so far in Wellington has been good. We're hoping to build on our win from Cape Town and produce some great rugby in Wellington."

England captain Tom Mitchell, who won the Wellington Sevens in 2013 with victory over Kenya, added: "We've had a good run in this week and have been able to relax a bit in Wellington in the build up. We've had a good couple of training sessions and a gym session to get the body going and the atmosphere in the camp is good. It's all about focusing now on the job at hand and we're excited about the challenge ahead."


Pool A: South Africa, New Zealand, Scotland, Russia
Pool B: Argentina, Fiji, Wales, Japan
Pool C: France, USA, England, Samoa
Pool D: Kenya, Australia, Canada, Portugal


1) Fiji – 35 points
2) South Africa – 35
3) USA – 29
4) Argentina – 29
5) England – 26
6) France – 25
7) New Zealand – 25
8) Australia – 22
9) Kenya – 20
10) Scotland – 15
11) Samoa – 13
12) Wales – 10
13) Canada – 8
14) Russia – 3
15) Japan – 2
16) Portugal – 2
17) Zimbabwe – 1

With thanks to the World Rugby Sevens website