Preview: Southland v Tasman

Date published: September 16 2014

Tasman have made several changes to their starting XV for Wednesday's clash with Southland in Invercargill.

Tasman coach Kieran Keane has made several changes to his starting XV for Wednesday's clash with Southland in Invercargill.

Former All Blacks scrum-half Jimmy Cowan faces his former team-mates for the first time since his return to New Zealand in a new-look Tasman side that lost their last match in dramatic fashion to Taranaki last weekend.

Key man Tom Marshall has been sidelined with a shoulder injury which means that Kieron Fonotia moves in a place to outside centre, while Bryce Heem is the new outside centre after switching from the wing.

In the final back-line change, Mitchell Scott returns from injury to take Heem's spot on the right wing.

And in the only change up front, regular skipper Shane Christie returns as the openside flanker in place of Tevita Koloamatangi.

Meanwhile, former All Blacks hooker Andrew Hore – who came out of retirement recently – has been named on Southland's bench for this clash.
Hore came out of retirement recently to help Southland. Previously, he represented Otago and Taranaki at provincial level.

Stags coach Brad Mooar has made four changes to his starting XV for this clash. Amongst the backs there is only one change with Tayler Adams replacing Scott Eade at scrum-half.

Up front, Tony Keresoma comes in for JP Koen at tighthead prop while Dillan Halaholo takes over from first-choice hooker Talemaitoga Tuapati, who is being rested, and Michael Stewart replaces Michael Fatialofa at lock.

The teams:

Southland: 15 Junior Ngaluafe, 14 Lolohea Loco, 13 Mark Jackman, 12 Willis Halaholo, 11 Keanu Kahukura, 0 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Tayler Adams, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Tim Boys, 6 John Hardie, 5 Michael Stewart, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Tony Keresoma, 2 Dillan Halaholo, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 JP Koen, 18 Michael Fatialofa, 19 Bill Fukofuka, 20 Scott Eade, 21 Jamie Verran, 22 Cardiff Vaega.

Tasman: 15 Robbie Malneek, 14 Mitch Scott, 13 Bryce Heem, 12 Kieron Fonotia, 11 James Lowe, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Pete Samu, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Reuben Northover, 18 Tevita Cavubati, 19 Vernon Fredricks, 20 Billy Guyton, 21 Mike Wells, 22 David Havili

Date: Wednesday, September 17
Kick-off: 19:35 local (08:35 BST, 07:35 GMT)
Venue: Rugby Park, Invercargill
Referee: Mike Fraser