Preview: Munster v Treviso

Date published: November 13 2015

Munster head coach Anthony Foley makes five changes to the starting XV that defeated Edinburgh last weekend for their clash with Treviso.

CJ Stander will lead Munster for the first time at European level while Mike Sherry and BJ Botha return to join Dave Kilcoyne in the front-row, with Sherry making a welcome return to European action for the first time in over two years.

Mark Chisholm comes in to start alongside Donnacha Ryan in the second-row for the first time and in doing so will make his first Champions Cup appearance having previously represented Bayonne in the Challenge Cup.

Last season's Academy Player of the Year Jack O'Donoghue will win his first European cap from the start when he starts on the openside in a youthful back-row that also sees Dave O'Callaghan and captain Stander remain in situ.

Conor Murray and Ian Keatley continue in the half-backs with Simon Zebo and Keith Earls – who completed his return to play protocols – reverting to the wings for this weekend's encounter. 

Denis Hurley comes in to join Champions Cup debutant Francis Saili in the midfield while the final change sees Andrew Conway return at full-back.

Following his arrival last week Argentinean international Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino could make his first appearance for the province after being named amongst the replacements, while academy playmaker and Dolphin RFC clubman Rory Scannell will win his first European cap if sprung from the bench.

Meanwhile, Treviso have named James Ambrosini at fly-half while there is a reshuffle further back as Jayden Hayward moves from full-back to outside centre, with Luke McLean swapping from number ten for the full-back jersey at Thomond Park.

Alessandro Zanni will captain the side in a back row trio that also includes Abraham Steyn and Francesco Minto, while Edoardo Gori is at scrum-half.

The teams:

Munster: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Denis Hurley, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander (c), 7 Jack O'Donoghue, 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Duncan Casey, 17 James Cronin, 18 John Ryan, 19 Dave Foley, 20 Robin Copeland, 21 Tomas O'Leary, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

Treviso: 15 Luke McLean, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Jayden Hayward, 12 Enrico Bacchin, 11 Tommaso Iannone, 10 James Ambrosini, 9 Edoardo Gori, 8 Abraham Steyn, 7 Alessandro Zanni (c), 6 Francesco Minto, 5 Jean-François Montauriol, 4 Rudolph Duncan Naude, 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Ornel Gega, 1 Matteo Zanusso
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Matteo Muccignat, 18 Filippo Filippetto, 19 Dean Budd, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Andrea De Marchi, 22 Chris Smylie, 23 Sam Christie

Date: Saturday, November 14
Venue: Thomond Park
Kick-off: 17:15 GMT
Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant Referees: Tim Wigglesworth (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)