Preview: Leicester Tigers v Racing 92

Date published: October 21 2016

Leicester centre Matt Toomua will make his home debut for the Tigers in their European Champions Cup match against Racing 92 on Sunday.

The Welford Road crowd will welcome the Australia international after his first appearance in Tigers colours in the Pool 1 fixture away to Glasgow Warriors last weekend.

Toomua starts at inside centre and Tigers also welcome JP Pietersen on the wing after missing the last three games.

Marcos Ayerza and Ed Slater return to the pack in the other changes following the opener in Glasgow.

Sunday’s game will kick off following a minute’s silence in honour of Munster head coach Anthony Foley who died last weekend in the hours before his team were due to run out against Racing 92 in Paris.

Meanwhile, Racing 92 have made just one change to their run-on side which was supposed to play in last weekend’s postponed match against Munster.

Former All Blacks fly-half Dan Carter comes in at fly-half for Johan Goosen who shifts to outside centre.

The Springbok takes over in midfield from Anthony Tuitavke, who drops to the bench, with Henry Chavancy shifting in a position to inside centre.

Form: This will be just the second meeting between the clubs in the competition with Racing 92 winning the only previous encounter, a three-point victory in last season’s semi-final. Racing have lost just once in their last six away games (W3, D2), that defeat coming in Glasgow last season. Racing have lost just two of their six away games against Premiership clubs in the competition (W3, D1), and are unbeaten in the last two. Leicester have not lost at home to Top 14 opposition in the European Cup since 2005 (v Biarritz), winning 13 and drawing one since then. Tigers totalled just 218 metres over the gainline against Glasgow in Round 1, the lowest of any side in the opening weekend.

The teams:

Leicester Tigers:¬†15 Telusa Veainu, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Dom Barrow, 4 Ed Slater, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Logovi’i Mulipola, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Graham Kitchener, 20 Will Evans, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Peter Betham

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Johan Goosen, 12 Henry Chavancy, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Yannick Nyanga, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Eddy Ben Arous
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Luc Ducalcon, 19 Francois van der Merwe, 20 Thibault Dubarry, 21 James Hart, 22 Albert Vulivuli, 23 Anthony Tuitavake


Date: Sunday, October 23
Venue: Welford Road
Kick-off: 17:30 BST (16:30 GMT)
Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Matteo Liperini (Italy), Stefano Pennè (Italy)
TMO: Paul Stanley (England)