Preview: Japan v Uruguay

Date published: August 27 2015

Japan will be looking for another impressive performance as they try to put off-field turmoil to one side against Uruguay on Saturday.

While the Brave Blossoms have been tuning up for the World Cup, head coach Eddie Jones revealed that he would be stepping down from his role after the tournament.

World Rugby have also demanded assurances regarding the stadia at the 2019 World Cup, while the Japanese Super Rugby side is also under threat according to reports.

On the pitch last week's win over los Teros was reassuring after an underwhelming Pacific Nations Cup, and more of the same will be expected despite seven changes to the starting line-up.

In the backs Kotaro Matsushima, Craig Wing, Kenki Fukuoka and Fumiaki Tanaka all start in the backline, while up front Michael Broadhurst, Luke Thompson and Kensuke Hateyama get a chance.

For Uruguay there have been just two changes, as Leandro Leivas gets a start on the wing, while Carlos Arboleya starts at hooker.

A week ago Japan won 30-7 against Uruguay, who will be keen to produce an improved display before their tough task in Pool A at the World Cup.

Prediction: Japan proved too strong last time out, and despite the changes, it's difficult to see anything different this time around. Japan by 20!

The teams:

Japan: 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Kotaro Matsushima, 13 Male Sau, 12 Craig Wing, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Kosei Ono, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Hendrik Tui, 7 Michael Broadhurst, 6 Michael Leitch (c), 5 Hitoshi Ono, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hateyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Masataka Mikami.
Remplacements: 16 Takayuki Watanabe, 17 Takeshi Kizu, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Hayden Hopgood, 21 Atsushi Hiwasa, 22 Harumichi Tatekawa, 23 Karne Hesketh.

Uruguay: 15 Gastón Mieres, 14 Leandro Leivas, 13 Joaquín Prada, 12 Andrés Vilaseca, 11 Santiago Gibernau, 10 Felipe Berchesi, 9 Agustin Ormaechea, 8 Alejandro Nieto, 7 Diego Magno, 6 Juan Gaminara, 5 Jorge Zerbino, 4 Santiago Vilaseca (c), 3 Mario Sagario, 2 Carlos Arboleya, 1 Alejo Corral.
Remplacements: 16 German Kessler, 17 Oscar Durán, 18 Mateo Sanguinetti, 19 Mathias Palomeque, 20 Matias Beer, 21 Juan de Freitas, 22 Alejo Durán, 23 Alberto Roman.

Date: Saturday, 29 August
Venue: Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Kick-off: 18:00 local (9:00 GMT)
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)