Preview: Harlequins v Stade Français

Date published: October 12 2016

Harlequins have made three changes to their starting XV that beat Northampton last week for their Challenge Cup clash with Stade Français.

In the one tweak to their backline, Tim Swiel starts at fly-half, replacing Nick Evans who sustained a calf injury in the first-half last week.

Among the forwards Joe Marler has overcome a back spasm to start at loosehead, partnering Rob Buchanan and Will Collier in the front-row.

Kyle Sinckler and Mark Lambert are both unavailable for selection due to concussion.

Among the replacements, Ruaridh Jackson is named.

"For the third year in a row, Harlequins will kick-off the European season and the squad is hugely excited to return to The Stoop as we park the Aviva Premiership for a couple of weeks," said Harlequins director of rugby John Kingston.

"Stade are a team we know very well, our previous meetings have made for some mouth-watering battles and tomorrow's match will be another great occasion under the lights at The Stoop."

Meanwhile, Stade Français have included Sergio Parise, Pascal Papé and Rabah Slimani in a strong forward pack for their trip to the Stoop.

Clement Daguin and Jules Plisson are the half-back combination while Paul Williams and Meyer Bosman form the midfield for the Parisians.

The teams:

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Alofa Alofa, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Karl Dickson, 8 James Chisholm, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 James Horwill (c), 4 George Merrick, 3 Will Collier, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Sam Twomey, 20 Mat Luamanu, 21 Charlie Mulchrone, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Joe Marchant

Stade Français: 15 Djibril Camara, 14 Waisea Vuidarvuwalu, 13 Meyer Bosman, 12 Paul Williams, 11 Jérémy Sinzelle, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Clement Daguin, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Sekou Macalou, 5 Pascal Papé (c), 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Zak Taulafo
Replacements: 16 Remi Bonfils, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Giorgi Melikidze, 19 Mathieu De Giovanni, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Arthur Coville, 22 Faraj Fartass, 23 Théo Millet

Date: Thursday, October 13
Venue: Twickenham Stoop
Kick-off: 19:45 local (18:45 GMT)
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)